أبريل 25, 2021 | Kholood Khair

العلاج أسوأ من المرض: كيفية التعلم من الإخفاقات الحديثة لأجل تصميم نظام استجابة مناسب لوباء كوفيد- 19 في السودان

قبل عام وشهر من الآن،  قامت منظمة الصحة العالمية بالإعلان عن جائحة كوفيد- 19، ومع تزايد حالات الإصابة وآنتشارها بصورة خاطفة حول أرجاء العالم، قام عدد من “الخبراء” في شؤون أفريقيا بتقدير أن القارة تواجه حالة فريدة من “الضعف” وقاموا بتوقع مشاهد مرعبة لجثث تطفو على الشوارع

ولكن على الرغم من ذلك فإن الوباء لم يقم بإبادة الشعوب في القارة الإفريقية، حيث تتضاءل عددية حالات الإصابة والوفيات بالمقارنة لما تم حصره في القارة الأوروبية وفي شمال القارة الأمريكية.  مع ذلك فإن الاستجابة الوبائية المتبعة من قبل عدة حكومات أفريقية ومنظمات الإغاثة كانت على نفس النهج الذي اتبعه نظراؤهم في الشمال، وقد ألحقت هذه السياسات ضرراً بالغاً بشعوبهم.

أما في السودان، فقد قامت الحكومة السودانية الإنتقالية المعينة حديثا- والخاضعة لضغط من أجل إيفائها بتحقيق الإنتقال السياسي الموعود عقب إسقاط حكومة البشير- بالعمل بصورة سريعة على تطبيق الممارسات الشائعة التي اتبعتها دول أخرى، فقد تم تفعيل حظر صحي دام لستة أشهر مع إغلاق الحدود الدولية والمرافئ. وقامت الحكومة بصب اهتمامها على حشد وتحريك استجابة مسبوقة الدراسة لقطاع الإغاثة، تتبع في شكلها ما يمكن رؤيته في القارة الأوروبية وشمال أمريكا، وذلك قبل أن تتمكن من تحديد مستوى تطور وضع الوباء وكيفية تطويرها لاستجابة متناسبة مع الوباء.

قام المسؤولون الحكوميون- والذين يتكون جزء منهم من خبراء محنكين منتمين لقطاع المعونة- بالترحيب بوكالات إغاثة من اللاتي تم تقييد تفاعلها في عهد البشير. وفي غضون ذلك فقد تم توحيد سلطة القرار فيما يتعلق بالاستجابة للوباء بصورة سريعة، وذلك من بعد أن قامت الحكومة بعقد اجتماعات تنسيقية مشتركة مع وكالات الإغاثة ومع بدئها في التفاوض على حق الوصول إلى المناطق النائية.

 استجابة منفصلة عن الواقع المحيط

نسبة لسعي الحكومة بأن لا تظهر على أنها تتعامل بصورة غير مسؤولة فيما يخص حياة المواطنين، فقد قامت بتفويت فرص لضمان فعالية الإستجابة وتناسبها مع المعطيات على أرض الواقع. وكنتيجة فإن عليها الآن مواجهة سؤال ما إذا كان العلاج الذي تم تطبيقه أسوأ من المرض فيما يخص كثيرين في السودان. في نهاية الأمر فإن الاستجابة المبدئية لوباء كوفيد- 19 قد كانت بعيدة عن الأولويات والحاجات المحلية وعن التجارب المتعلقة بالفيروس، وهو ما دفع بشعب مسبق الضعف إلى أعماق فقر أشد مما كان عليه. قام الحظر الصحي الذي تم تفعيله في العام الماضي بتعريض العاملين بالقطاع الغير رسمي والعمالة المأجورة، مثل بائعات الشاي (سيدات الشاي) وتجار الأسواق (والذين يشكلون حوالي ال 60% من اقتصاد السودان) لقيود في الوصول إلى أماكن العمل بالإضافة إلى خسارة مباشرة للدخل وإمكانية تغريمهم في حال كسرهم لهذه القوانين.

لقد كانت الإجراءات الاحترازية والتوجيهات فيما يتعلق بالتباعد الاجتماعي غير عملية للنازحين القاطنين بالمخيمات والعائلات الحضرية التي تعيش بكثافة في مساحات محصورة. في نفس الوقت فإن دعوات الحكومة المنادية بغسل الأيادي بالصابون وتعقيمها لم تكن   ذات جدوى فعلية  في سياق النازحين الذين لا يتوفر لهم الصابون بأسعار مناسبة. ومع إنعدام  خطط ورسائل معاد تكييفها لمناسبة السياق السوداني من أجل تحويط مخاطر الوباء في سياق أثرها بالسودان، أدى ذلك لانتشار واسع للمعلومات الخاطئة  عدم إتباع النصائح الوقائية بصورة .واسعة

منهج متكيف

لقد تم اكتساب دروس كثيرة منذ تلك الفترة، ومع تزايد حالات كوفيد- 19 للمرة الثانية في نهاية عام 2020 وفي هذا الربيع، فقد تم تفعيل إجراءات حظر صحي ذات قيود أقل شمولاً تركز فقط على الأعراس والتجمعات الكبيرة. أما العمالة المأجورة وغيرهم من العاملين غير الرسميين فقد عادوا إلى عملهم جاهدين في تعويض الدخل الذي فقدوه. أما ارتداء الأقنعة فقد أصبح نوعا رخيصاً وطبيعيا للوقاية، يرتبط في أذهان الناس بالعودة إلى العمل.

ولكن وعلى الرغم من ذلك فإن الضرر الذي قد لحق ثقة العامة بالمعلومات الرسمية حول الوباء قد يكون دائم الأثر. في يومنا الحالي نجد أن التخوفات المرتبطة بلقاح كوفيد- 19 يتم تعزيزها عن طريق نظريات المؤامرة الواسعة عن طبيعة الفيروس نفسه. والطريقة الوحيدة لتفنيدها هي عن طريق الرسائل الذكية و المبنية على السياق  المتعلقة باللقاح و الوباء  و الصادرة من كل من الحكومة وقطاع المعونة معاَ.

ومما يثير القلق بصورة متساوية، هو عدم الانتباه للسياق المحيط ونسيانه بصورة واسعة في قطاع المعونة في وسط الهلع الذي برز في بداية الجائحة. مع الأسف فإنه وفي هذه اللحظات على الأخص تبرز الحاجة الضرورية إلى فهم السياقات الواقعية التي تتعلق بالسكان المتأثرين بالأزمة أو الحدث

 يوم محاسبة لقطاع المساعدات السوداني

من أجل ضمان تناسب الإستجابات المستقبلية للأزمات مع التجارب المعيشية للسودانيين، تتضح ضرورة حوزة العاملين على المستوى القومي والفيدرالي بالإضافة إلى منظمات الإغاثة على معلومات وتحاليل سياقية أفضل. وهو ما يمكن أن يلعب فيها قطاع المساعدات دوراَ هاماَ.

نظرياَ فإن بإمكان منظمات الإغاثة العمل على تطبيع مشاركة التحاليل والبيانات عن طريق إنشاء آليات تنسيقية يمكن استعمالها لأجل تحديث استجابة قطاع المساعدات والاستجابة الحكومية- سواء كان ذلك على المستوى المحلي أو القومي. بالإضافة لذلك فإن بإمكان عمال الإغاثة العمل على سد الفجوات المعرفية على المستوى الفيدرالي، سواء كان ذلك ضمن مكاتب الدولة أو الأجسام الحكومية. إضافة إلى تحسين تشارك البيانات عن طريق مساندة العاملين في السلطات القومية المحلية. إنه ومع توسيع توفر عمال الإغاثة ومشاركة التحاليل والبيانات من شبكات الشركاء التنفيذيين على المستوى دون القومي ومستوى المجتمع- سيسمح بتنسيق أعظم مع توجيه الدعم لهذه الاستجابات.

أما عملياً فإن تشجيع مشاركة البيانات التحليلية والدروس المكتسبة-ومن ضمنها الإخفاقات السابقة- يمكن أن يكون أمرا صعباً بين منظمات الإغاثة المتنافسة. ومع ذلك فإن الاستجابة ذات الوطأة الثقيلة لوباء كوفيد- 19 بالسودان تستوجب حصول محاسبة، بحيث يقوم قطاع المساعدات بإستكشاف دوره في إدارة الاستجابة إلى الوباء. إن من الواجب إعطاء أولوية لهذا الأمر في وقت قريب في الحين الذي لا تزال فيه التحديات المتعلقة بالوباء والتعلم المؤسسي المكتسب من الاستجابة الابتدائية متوفرين.

يجب أن تقوم عملية المحاسبة هذه بالعمل على فحص كيفية تفاعل التقارب بين قطاع المساعدات والحكومة القومية على أرض الواقع. رغم أن هذه العلاقة الجديدة المحسنة تعد بسهولة وصول أكبر لمنظمات الإغاثة، فإن من الممكن أنها قد أضعفت الثقة فيهم وخصوصا في وسط مجتمعات النازحين والتي لا تزال محافظة على مستوى عال من عدم الثقة بالحكومة. ومن الممكن أن هذا القرب في العلاقة قد شجع قطاع المساعدات على إتباع نهج الحكومة في التركيز على إنجاح الحظر الصحي، رغم العيوب الجوهرية المتضمنة به.

إن من الوارد أن يكون تحقيق التوازن بين الاستفادة من الفرص الجديدة لأجل التفاعل الوثيق مع الحكومة من أجل الحصول على تفويض الوصول وبين إعطاء أولوية للتركيز على العمل المحلي أمرا صعب التحقيق. ورغم ذلك فإن من المهم تعزيز المتطلبات الإنسانية المتعلقة بإيفاء الحاجات المحلية والتدخلات القائمة على الأدلة واكتساب الدروس بدلا عن إلغائها.

الدروس المكتسبة

لا يزال علينا فهم سبب اختلاف إحصائيات كوفيد 19 المحصورة في إفريقيا بصورة كبيرة عما تم تسجيله في أماكن أخرى. إن من الواضح أن من اللازم في المستقبل أن تكون منظمات المعونة والسلطات الحكومية مسلحة بوعي أفضل عن كيفية تفاعل استجابات قطاع الصحة العام والاستجابات الإنسانية مع المفهوم المحلي والوياته وطرق حياته. إن العمل على تغيير هذا الأمر سيتطلب تفاعلا ثابتا من أجل بناء الثقة مع المجتمعات ذات الوضع الحرج والعمل على تجهيزهم من أجل توجيه الاستجابات الجارية لوباء كوفيد 19 والأزمات المستقبلية الاخري.

سيمكن وجود علاقة تكافلية مدروسة بصورة دقيقة بين الحكومة وقطاع المساعدات، تعمل على تحقيق أقصى قدر من الاستفادة من نقاط قوة الإثنين مع تجنب مساوئ المركزية- المتعلقة بالمساعدات والمعرفة والموارد (المالية وغيرها) وإمكانية الوصول- بالإضافة إلى تمكين استجابة الطوارئ بالسودان من أن تكون أكثر تقبلا وأكثر مراعات للنزاعات.

_____________________________

  1. W. Brown (2020), ‘Nearly 200,000 people in Africa could die of coronavirus, WHO warns’, the Telegraph (08 May). https://www.telegraph.co.uk/global-health/science-and-disease/nearly-200000-people-africa-could-die-coronavirus-warns/
  2. https://edition.cnn.com/videos/business/2020/04/10/melinda-gates-coronavirus.cnn-business
  3. نقلا عن البنك الدولي، فإن الأثر الأساسي لجائحة كورونا قد كان إقتصاديا متمثلا في: إرتفاع أسعار المواد الغذائية الأساسية وتزايد معدلات البطالة وتناقص معدل الصادرات. قامت هذه الأزمة بتسليط الضوء على أهمية توفر المياه الآمنة والتعقيم وممارسات النظافة والتي لا تزال غير مستوافة في الفترة الحالية. يتوقع أن تواصل الجائحة في تقديم تحديات لأنظمة الإستجابة بالبلاد وإستعدادية قطاع الصحة العام، إضافة لتأثيره بصورة بالغة السوء على الإقتصاد. تصريح صحفي للبنك الدولي بعنوان: “مجموعة البنك الدولي تقدم الدعم لأجل مساعدة السودان في التعامل مع الآثار الصحية والإقتصادية لوباء كوفيد 19”. ال 30 من سبتمر لعام 2020
  4. https://www.sd.undp.org/content/sudan/en/home/countryinfo.html
Tweets
Follow
September 23, 2021, 10:44 am
Our 8th research update is out! This time, we highlight new analysis from @FeinsteinIntCen @FAOSudan @RVInews and a section devoted to land tenure and conflict in #Sudan. https://t.co/k1LtkPqkIH Sign up to regular updates on our website. https://t.co/bhZqn3quBD
1 0
September 22, 2021, 8:33 am
RT @CsfSudan: Read our new briefing paper which summarises and explains the provisions in the Juba Peace Agreement (JPA) that cover humanit…
1 0
September 20, 2021, 9:01 am
Read our latest long read, explaining how land and livelihoods are central to conflicts in #Sudan and how aid organisations must understand the dynamics around them. https://t.co/XFZonGmfZd
1 1

قم بالإشتراك للحصول على آخر التحديثات

تقوم نشرات التنوير الشهرية ومجموعات الواتساب للتعلم من الأقران بتسليط الضوء على التحليل العملي والفعاليات ذات الصلة بالإضافة إلى وجهات النظر المتنوعة من أجل مساعدة الجميع في تحسين المعونة المقدمة للمجتمعات

عنوان البريد الإلكتروني
الإسم الأول
رقم الهاتف
أود الإطلاع على:

April 25, 2021 | Kholood Khair

A cure worse than the disease? Learning from recent failures to develop a Covid-19 response fit for Sudan

One year ago, last month, WHO declared COVID-19 a pandemic. As infections rapidly spread around the world, some proclaimed ‘experts’ on Africa, assessed that the continent was “uniquely vulnerable” and predicted gruesome scenes of “dead bodies on the street” (1,2).

Yet the COVID-19 pandemic has not decimated populations across Africa, where numbers of infections and deaths pale in comparison to those seen in Europe and North America.  Despite this the response by several African governments and aid agencies has followed the same playbook as their Northern counterparts, at significant cost to their populations.

In Sudan, the fledgling transitional government, already under pressure to fulfil its promised political transition following the fall of Omer Bashir, quickly replicated what it saw in other countries. A partial 6-month lockdown was instituted and international borders and ports were closed. Before it could assess how the virus was progressing and design a proportionate, appropriate response, attention turned to mobilising a pre-planned aid response along the lines seen elsewhere, in Europe and North America.

Government officials—many veterans of the aid sector themselves—now welcomed aid agencies that were held at arm’s length during the Bashir years. Meanwhile, decision-making over the virus response was quickly centralised as the government set up joint coordination meetings with aid agencies and began negotiating access to remote areas.

Yet while the government could hardly be seen to play fast and loose with the health of the population, the cure it provided proved worse than the disease for many in Sudan. Ultimately, the response to COVID-19 was divorced from local priorities, needs and experiences of the virus, plunging an already vulnerable population into deeper poverty (3). Last year’s lockdown saw informal and wage labourers, like tea ladies and market traders, who make up around 60% of Sudan’s economy (4), face restrictions on travel to workplaces, an immediate loss of income and fines if they broke the rules.

For displaced people in camps or tightly packed urban families living at close quarters, prevention measures and guidelines around social distancing were plainly unrealistic. Meanwhile, Government calls to wash with soap and disinfect hands, had little meaning in displacement and other contexts where access to affordable soap is limited. Where messaging was not contextualised – and recalibrated towards framing the danger of the pandemic within its impact in Sudan – misinformation spread and non-conformity with prevention advice was widespread.

Lessons have since been learned. With cases of COVID-19 rising for the second time towards the end of 2020 and again this spring, government lockdown measures were replaced with less comprehensive restrictions, focusing only on wedding venues and mass gatherings.  Daily wage labourers and other informal workers are back at work, desperately trying to make up for lost income. Mask-wearing has now become a cheaper and normalised form of protection, tied into getting back to work.

Despite this, the damage done to public trust in official information around the pandemic might be lasting. Today, misgivings about the COVID-19 vaccine have been fuelled by broader conspiracies around the nature of the virus itself, which can only be dispelled by smart, contextually relevant messaging around vaccinations – and the pandemic – from both government and the aid industry.

Equally concerning was how quickly commitments to context specificity—a common refrain in the aid sector, were forgotten amid the panic at the onset of the pandemic. Unfortunately, it is in precisely these moments where understanding the contextual and lived realities of people affected by a crisis or event, is most essential.

Closing the feedback loop 

To ensure future responses to crises make sense to the varied experiences of Sudanese people, it is clear that responders in national and federal level authorities as well as aid agencies need to have access to better contextual information and analysis. Here, the aid sector can play an important role.

In theory, aid agencies can normalise the sharing of analyses and data by setting up coordination mechanisms, which can be used to inform aid and governmental responses at the national as well as local level. Aid actors on the ground can also plug knowledge gaps at the federal level – both in country offices and governmental bodies – and improve the sharing of data by seconding staff to national or local authorities. With the expanding access of aid actors, analysis and data- sharing from networks of existing implementing partners at the sub-national/ community level will allow for greater coordination, while directing support towards these responses.

In practice, of course, encouraging the sharing of analysis and learning—including from past failures—can prove challenging among competing aid agencies. However, the heavy-handed response to COVID-19 in Sudan demands a reckoning, one where the aid sector must explore the impacts of its approach to the pandemic. This should be prioritised soon while pandemic-related challenges and institutional learning from the initial response remain in place.

Such a reckoning should examine how the close alignment between the aid sector and the national government played out in practice. While this new and improved relationship promised greater access for aid agencies, it may have also undermined trust in them, particularly among displaced communities who maintain deep mistrust of ‘government’, writ large. The closeness of the relationship may also have encouraged the aid sector to follow the government’s lead and focus on making lockdown work, despite the fundamental flaws in the approach.

Investing in new opportunities for closer engagement with government to gain access while prioritising a local focus may be a difficult balance to strike. However, it is vital that humanitarian requirements around meeting local needs, evidence-based interventions and learning are further embedded rather than relinquished.

We’re yet to understand why COVID-19 figures seen in Africa have differed so widely from those seen elsewhere. What is clear is that in future, both government authorities and aid agencies need to be equipped with a better awareness of how humanitarian or public health responses to crises might interact with local understandings, priorities, and ways of life. Changing this will require more consistent engagement to build trust among vulnerable communities and prepare them to guide ongoing responses to COVID-19 and future crises.

A carefully-considered symbiotic relationship between government and aid, maximising the strengths of both and avoiding the pitfalls of centralisation – of aid, knowledge, resources (financial and otherwise) and reach – will enable emergency response in Sudan to be more receptive and conflict-sensitive.

________________________________________

  1. W. Brown (2020), ‘Nearly 200,000 people in Africa could die of coronavirus, WHO warns’, the Telegraph (08 May). https://www.telegraph.co.uk/global-health/science-and-disease/nearly-200000-people-africa-could-die-coronavirus-warns/
  2. https://edition.cnn.com/videos/business/2020/04/10/melinda-gates-coronavirus.cnn-business
  3. According to the World Bank, the main impact of COVID-19 has been economic with “increased prices of basic foods, rising unemployment, and falling exports. The crisis has also highlighted the importance of safe water, sanitation, and hygiene practices, which remain inadequate. The outbreak is anticipated to further challenge the county’s public health preparedness and response systems and adversely impact the economy. World Bank Press release “World Bank Group Provides Support to Help Sudan Manage the Health and Economic Impacts of the COVID-19,” September 30, 2020
  4. https://www.sd.undp.org/content/sudan/en/home/countryinfo.html

The author is a Managing Partner at Insight Strategy Partners.

Tweets
Follow
September 23, 2021, 10:44 am
Our 8th research update is out! This time, we highlight new analysis from @FeinsteinIntCen @FAOSudan @RVInews and a section devoted to land tenure and conflict in #Sudan. https://t.co/k1LtkPqkIH Sign up to regular updates on our website. https://t.co/bhZqn3quBD
1 0
September 22, 2021, 8:33 am
RT @CsfSudan: Read our new briefing paper which summarises and explains the provisions in the Juba Peace Agreement (JPA) that cover humanit…
1 0
September 20, 2021, 9:01 am
Read our latest long read, explaining how land and livelihoods are central to conflicts in #Sudan and how aid organisations must understand the dynamics around them. https://t.co/XFZonGmfZd
1 1

Subscribe for Latest Updates

Our monthly updates and WhatsApp peer learning group highlight practical analysis, key events, and diverse viewpoints to help us all deliver Better Aid.

Email Address
First Name
Phone Number
I am interested in