مايو 25, 2021 | Dorette Besser

حساسية النزاعات – دحض الأساطير

يمكن للعون، سواء كان إنسانياً أو تنموياً، أن يغذي التوترات أو النزاعات القائمة، أو حتى أسوأ من ذلك، أن يخلق توترات جديدة. لماذا؟ لأننا غالبًا ما نقوم بإدخال الموارد في البيئات التي توجد فيها توترات بين المجموعات، وعدم مساواة، وندرة في الموارد. لذلك، يمكن أن يؤدي العون المقدّم من دون فهم للسياق إلى زيادة التوترات عن غير قصد.

نحن في وحدة حساسية النزاعات، نعمل مع نظام العون في السودان لمساعدته على أن يصبح أكثر حساسية للنزاعات، أو بعبارة أخرى، أكثر وعيًا بسياقه وتأثيره على هذا السياق، وأكثر قدرة على التكيف لتعزيز التأثير الإيجابي على النزاعات و دينامياتها قدر الإمكان.

في دوراتنا التدريبية وتفاعلاتنا مع العاملين في مجال العون من مختلف الأطياف، نسمع الكثير من الأفكار حول ما هي حساسية النزاعات و ما  ليس بذلك، بعض هذه الأمور صحيحاً وبعضها يحتاج إلى القليل من التصحيح.

في هذه المدونة، نقوم بدحض بعض أكثر الأساطير شيوعًا حول حساسية النزاعات.

الأسطورة الأولى: النزاعات دائمًا سيئة.

هذه أسطورة منتشرة! ومع ذلك، يخبرنا التاريخ أن معظم – أن لم تكن كل –  حركات العدالة الاجتماعية الكبرى في العالم ظهرت من خلال النزاعات. لقد غيرت الاستجابات السلمية أو غير العنيفة للنزاعات حياة الملايين، وربما المليارات، إلى الأفضل – ولدى السودان بعض الدروس التي يمكن أن يقدمها في هذا الشأن. يعد النزاع أمراً طبيعياً، وهو جزء من كل علاقة بين الأشخاص، وداخل المجموعة، وبين المجموعات – وسيظل معنا دائمًا. وهذا ليس ما يشكو منه. إن هدفنا في حساسية النزاعات ليس منعها، بل الاعتراف بها والسعي إلى إحداث تأثير بناء – أو على الأقل تأثير غير سلبي – عليها من خلال عملنا.

الأسطورة الثانية: حساسية النزاعات  تماثل إدارة المخاطر

تسعى إدارة المخاطر إلى تحديد وإدارة أو تخفيف المخاطر التي يتعرض لها مشروع أو برنامج ما. ويشمل المخاطر التي يتعرض لها موظفو المنظمة وعملياتها وسمعتها وبرامجها وشؤونها المالية.

وفي المقابل تنظر حساسية النزاعات إلى كيفية تأثير المشروع على النزاعات المحيطة بنا، وتسعى إلى تقليل وتخفيف المخاطروالأضرار التي قد نتسبب فيها،  و تقليل احتمالية المساهمة في هذه النزاعات. من الممكن ان نقول أن حساسية النزاعات تعني إننا يجب أن نتقدم في اتجاه جعل برامجنا تساهم فعليًا في تقوية المجتمعات و تحقيق السلام.

وهذا يعني أنه يتعين علينا أن نتخطى  قياس ما إذا كان موظفونا ومشاريعنا قد تتعرض للتهديد بسبب نزاع عنيف، و بالمقابل النظر فيما إذا كنا نؤثر على ديناميكيات النزاع وكيفية ذلك. يتضمن هذا الإجراء معرفة السياق الخاص بالفرد (انظر أيضًا دورة سياق السودان التي سيتم تدشينها في وقت لاحق من شهر يونيو) ومن ثم القدرة على التصرف بمرونة بناءً على هذا التحليل من أجل تقليل أي ضرر يحتمل أن يلحق بالمجتمعات التي نعمل فيها.

 

 

الأسطورة الثالثة: حساسية النزاعات مخصصة فقط لبناة السلام:

حساسية النزاعات ليست فقط لبناة السلام!  بل تشمل جميع العاملين في مجال بناء السلام والعون الإنساني والتنمية ومنظمات العون. إذا كنت من ممارسي العون الإنساني الحساس للنزاعات، فإنك تفهم السياق الذي تعمل فيه وتراقبه بانتظام من خلال أشكال مختلفة من تحليل النزاعات مثل تلك التي ذكرناها أعلاه.

هنالك مجموعة من الطرق للتعامل مع النزاعات. فمن ناحية، هناك إدارة المخاطر، التي تسعى فقط إلى توجيه وحماية المنظمة وموظفيها من الضرر الناجم عن النزاع. ومن ناحية أخرى، هناك بناء السلام، الذي يسعى جاهداً للعمل بشكل مباشر على الأسباب الجذرية للنزاعات من خلال تحديد ومعالجة الديناميات الاجتماعية والسياسية الضارة الممنهجة. وتعزيز حوار المناصرة بين الجهات الفاعلة.

وتقع حساسية النزاعات في منطقة ما بين هذه الطرق. فمن ناحية، فهي تنظر إلى ما هو أبعد من المخاطر والفرص التي قد تؤثر على عمليات التدخل (انظر الأسطورة الثانية). ومع ذلك، فإن طموحاتها أدنى من برامج بناء السلام، المخصصة لكشف الأسباب الجذرية الشائكة للنزاع. وبدلا من ذلك، تتضمن حساسية النزاعات فهم كيف يمكن للتدخلات الإنسانية والتنموية أن تؤدي إلى نزاعات جديدة أو قائمة أو تحافظ عليها، و في حالة أكثر طموحا، تكييف البرامج لتغذية التأثيرات الإيجابية مثل المساهمة في التماسك الاجتماعي.

الأسطورة الرابعة: حساسية النزاعات تتطلب الحياد دائمًا:

إن الحياد هو أحد المبادئ الإنسانية المهمة، رغم أنه مستحيل. غالبًا ما يكون الانحياز إلى أحد الجانبين – أو الظهور بمظهر المتحيز – في نزاع سياسي مستمر، طريقة مؤكدة لتفاقم الخلافات وتقويض الثقة في مؤسستك أو مشروعك. ومع ذلك، في بعض الأحيان تتعارض مبادئنا مع بعضها البعض، ونجد أنفسنا في مواقف لا يمكننا فيها أن نكون محايدين وملتزمين بالاستجابة للاحتياجات أينما نراها. هناك أيضًا بعض القيم والأفكار التي تلتزم بها منظمات الإغاثة بصورة كبيرة، سواء كان ذلك يتعلق بالمساواة بين الجنسين أو القضاء على الفقر، وهو ما يمكن أن يشكل تحديًا لثروة أو نفوذ الآخرين في المجتمع ويثير الانتقادات.

ويتطلب الدخول في هذا النوع من المعضلات، الموازنة بين الالتزامات والمصالح، وإدارة المخاطر. ومن المهم أن ندرك أن العديد من المآزق تضع مطالب أو مخاطر قصيرة المدى في مواجهة أهداف طويلة المدى يمكن أن تساهم في إحداث تغيير دائم وإيجابي. ومن خلال تبني حساسية النزاعات، لن يصبح اتخاذ هذه القرارات أسهل. ومع ذلك، ستكون مستعدًا ومطلعًا بشكل أفضل عند القيام بذلك.

الأسطورة الخامسة: حساسية النزاعات تتعارض مع الحساسية تجاه النوع الاجتماعي

إن تعزيز المساواة بين الجنسين من الممكن أن يثير ردود فعل ضارة في بعض الأماكن، وخاصة في المجتمعات الأبوية الأكثر تحفظاً. يمكن أن يكون رد الفعل العنيف هذا ضارًا بالمشروع، وبالأفراد المشاركين والمجتمعات، وخاصة النساء والفتيات، في المنطقة المحيطة. وفي الوقت نفسه، من خلال الالتفاف حول أوجه عدم المساواة العميقة والمظالم مثل تلك التي تساهم في النزاعات، يمكن أن تنتهي التدخلات إلى حجبها أو حتى إدامتها. من الصعب جدًا التعامل مع مثل هذه المقايضات، لكن فقط من خلال إدراكها وفهمها يمكننا الاستجابة بالطريقة الأكثر فائدة.

تلعب المعايير الجنسانية وعدم المساواة دورًا حاسمًا في النزاعات في السودان و العديد من الأماكن الأخرى، على سبيل المثال، يُنظر إلى الشباب على أنهم المدافعون عن المجتمع ويتم الضغط عليهم من قبل النساء والزعماء للقتال. ونتيجة لذلك، فإنهم يشعرون في كثير من الأحيان أنه لا مكان لهم في عملية صنع السلام. وفي الوقت نفسه، تلعب النساء والفتيات أدوارًا مختلفة في النزاعات، حيث يعملن في بعض الأحيان كصانعات للسلام وفي أحيان أخرى كمخربات أو محرضات.

تطلعات:

إن حساسية النزاعات ليست سهلة أو واضحة. يتطلب تفعيل المنهج المراعي لحساسية النزاعات إجراء تغييرات في السلوك الشخصي وطرق العمل المؤسسية. ولا يعد تنفيذ منهج يراعي النزاعات مسؤولية موظفي البرنامج فحسب، بل يتطلب موافقة الإدارة ودعمًا نشطًا إذا أريد تحقيق تغيير حقيقي.

والخبر السار هو أن المساعدات لديها أيضًا القدرة على تعزيز التماسك الاجتماعي، وتحويل النزاع الاجتماعي، وتضخيم الفوائد المقصودة من تدخلاتنا إذا طبقنا منظورنا الحساس للنزاعات على جميع مجالات عملياتنا، وإذا قمنا بتغيير مواقفنا وسلوكياتنا حول تقديم العون الإنساني الحساس للنزاع .

تم أخذ الكثير من المعلومات الموجودة في هذه المدونة من دليل حساسية النزاعات ل CSRF و  مقدمة سيفر ورلد للمناهج الحساسة للنزاع في مجال التنمية والعون الإنساني و بناء السلام.

قم بالإشتراك للحصول على آخر التحديثات

تقوم نشرات التنوير الشهرية ومجموعات الواتساب للتعلم من الأقران بتسليط الضوء على التحليل العملي والفعاليات ذات الصلة بالإضافة إلى وجهات النظر المتنوعة من أجل مساعدة الجميع في تحسين المعونة المقدمة للمجتمعات

عنوان البريد الإلكتروني
الإسم الأول
رقم الهاتف
أود الإطلاع على:

May 25, 2021 | Dorette Besser

Conflict Sensitivity – Myth Busting!

Aid, whether it’s humanitarian or development, can feed into existing tensions or conflicts or worse, create new tensions. Why? We often infuse resources in environments where intergroup pressures, inequality, and scarcity of resources exists. So by bringing aid but without understanding the context and the dynamics, aid can increase tension unintentionally.

At the CSF, we work with Sudan’s aid system to help it become more conflict sensitive, or in other words, more aware of its context and the impact it has on that context, and better able to adapt to have as positive an impact on conflict dynamics as possible.

In our trainings and interactions with aid workers across the spectrum, we hear lots of ideas about what conflict sensitivity is – or isn’t. Some of these are right and others… need a bit of correction.

In this blog, we’re debunking some of the most common myths we hear about conflict sensitivity.

Myth #1: Conflict is always bad.

This is a prevalent myth! However, history tells us that most (maybe all?) of the world’s great social justice movements emerged through conflict. Peaceful, or non-violent responses to conflict have changed the lives of millions, perhaps billions, for better – Sudan has a few lessons to offer on this. Conflict is natural, and part of every interpersonal, intra-group, and inter-group relationship – it will always be with us. And that’s nothing to complain about. Our goal in conflict sensitivity is not to prevent conflicts, but to recognise them and seek to have a constructive effect – or at the least not a negative impact – on them through our work.

Myth #2: Conflict sensitivity is the same as risk management

Risk management seeks to identify, manage or mitigate risks to a project or programme. It includes risk to an organisation’s staff, operations, reputation, programs and finances.

Conflict sensitivity, on the other hand, looks at how a project might affect the conflicts around us, and seeks to minimise and mitigate the risks that we might cause harm or contribute to these conflicts. If possible, conflict sensitivity says we should take it one step further, and aim to have our programs actually contribute to social strengths and peace.

This means we have to go beyond gauging whether our staff and projects might be threatened by a violent conflict and look at whether and how we are impacting the conflict dynamics in return. This action involves knowing one’s context (also see our Sudan context course rolling out later in June) and then being able to flexibly act on that analysis in order to minimise any potential harm done to the communities where we work.

Myth #3: Conflict sensitivity is just for peacebuilders

Conflict sensitivity is not just for peacebuilders! It applies to all peacebuilding, humanitarian, and development aid workers and aid organisations. If you’re a conflict sensitive aid practitioner, you understand the context you operate in and monitor it regularly through different forms of conflict analysis like those we mention above.

There’s a spectrum of ways to approach conflict. On the one hand, there’s risk management, which seeks only to guide and protect an organisation and its staff from harm stemming from conflict. On the other, there is peacebuilding, which strives to work directly on the root causes of conflict by identifying and addressing harmful systemic and socio-political dynamics and strengthens advocacy dialogue of actors.

Conflict sensitivity sits somewhere between these. On the one hand, it looks beyond the risks and opportunities that may impact an intervention (see myth #2). However, its ambitions are less lofty than peacebuilding programmes, which are devoted to unravelling the sticky, root causes of conflict. Instead, conflict sensitivity involves understanding how humanitarian and development interventions can trigger or sustain new or existing conflicts and, if more ambitious, adapt programmes to feed into positive impacts like contributing to social cohesion.

Myth #4: Conflict sensitivity always requires neutrality

Neutrality is one of the important, though arguably impossible, humanitarian principles. Taking – or being seen to take – sides in an ongoing political conflict is often a surefire way to aggravate disagreements and erode trust in your organisation or project. Yet sometimes our principles come into conflict with each other, and we find ourselves in situations where we can’t be both neutral and committed to responding to need wherever we see it. There are also some values and ideas which aid organisations are rightly committed to, whether that be gender equality or ending poverty that can challenge the wealth or power of others in society and attract criticism.

Navigating these kinds of dilemmas requires balancing commitments and interests, and managing risks. It is important to recognise that many predicaments pit short-term demands or risks against longer-term goals that could contribute to lasting and positive change. By embracing conflict sensitivity, these decisions won’t become easier to make. You will however be better prepared and informed for when you do so.

Myth #5: Conflict sensitivity goes against gender sensitivity

Promoting gender equality can provoke harmful reactions in some places, particularly in more conservative, patriarchal societies. Such backlash can be harmful to the project, to the individuals involved and to communities, particularly women and girls, in the surrounding area. At the same time, by skirting around deep inequalities and grievances like these that contribute to conflict, interventions can end up obscuring or even perpetuating them. Such trade-offs are very difficult to navigate but only by being aware of them and understanding them can we respond in the most meaningful way.

Gender norms and inequalities play a critical role in conflicts in Sudan and elsewhere. In many places for example, young men are seen as being the defenders of the community and pressure is put on them by women and the chiefs to fight. As a result, they often feel that they have no place in peacemaking. At the same time, women and girls play various roles in conflict, at times acting as peacemakers and other times as spoilers or inciters.

Looking ahead

Conflict sensitivity is not easy or straightforward. Operationalising a conflict sensitive approach requires changes in personal behaviour and institutional ways of working. Implementing a conflict-sensitive approach is not solely the responsibility of programme staff, but requires management buy-in and active support if it is to achieve genuine change.

The good news is that aid also has the potential to strengthen social cohesion, transform social conflict and amplify the intended benefits of our interventions IF we apply our conflict sensitivity lens to all areas of our operation, and if we change our attitude and behaviours around conflict sensitive aid implementation.

A lot of the information in this blog was taken from the CSRF Conflict Sensitivity Toolkit and Saferworld’s introduction to conflict-sensitive approaches to development, humanitarian assistance and peacebuilding.

Subscribe for Latest Updates

Our monthly updates and WhatsApp peer learning group highlight practical analysis, key events, and diverse viewpoints to help us all deliver Better Aid.

Email Address
First Name
Phone Number
I am interested in