أغسطس 12, 2021 | CSF Team

نساعدك لتساعد الآخرين: كيفية الحصول على الدعم الذي تحتاجه كجهة فاعلة في مجال العون للتغلب على النزاعات

يعد تقديم العون في منطقة تعاني من نزاعات عنيفة، مهمة معقدة ومحفوفة بالمخاطر. إن الأخطاء وسوء الفهم في مثل هذه الأماكن لها عواقب وخيمة على عمال الإغاثة ومنظماتهم، وقبل كل شيء، على أفراد المجتمع الذين من المفترض أن يستفيدوا من العون. ومع ذلك، بالنسبة لعمال الإغاثة من البلدان الأخرى، فإن فهم المجتمعات التي يعملون فيها قد يبدو أمرًا شاقًا، ناهيك عن معرفة كيف يمكن أن يؤثر عملهم على النزاع للأفضل أو للأسوأ.

تقوم العديد من المؤسسات المانحة ووكالات العون في هذه الحالة بتكليف مختصين في حساسية النزاعات وفي منطقة العمليات المحددة لمساعدة فرقهم على فهم النزاعات التي تؤثر على منطقة عملهم والاستجابة لها. ومع ذلك، هناك عدة أنواع متاحة من الدعم ، ولكل منها نقاط قوة ونقاط ضعف مختلفة، وبعضها أكثر ملاءمة لبعض المواقف من غيرها. لقد اخترنا هنا بعضًا منها، وشاركنا بعض الدروس حول كيفية تحقيق أقصى استفادة منها.

هيا بنا إلى قطار التدريب!

تعتبر الدورات التدريبية طريقة رائعة لمساعدة الموظفين على فهم أساسيات حساسية النزاعات، ومساعدتهم على التفكير في الآثار العملية لذلك على عملهم. وهذا سيترك للموظفين أفكارًا ومهارات يمكن استخدامها لتعزيز عملهم. عندما تُعقد التدريبات بشكل شخصي، فإنها يمكن أن تعزز التغيير على المستوى التنظيمي أو حتى القطاعي من خلال إثارة المحادثات بين المشاركين، والتي من خلالها يمكن أن تنشأ مجتمعات الممارسة.

ولحسن الحظ، هناك عدد لا يحصى من موارد التدريب ومجموعات الأدوات و االكتيبات الإرشادية المتعلقة بحساسية النزاعات، بما في ذلك عدد متزايد من الدورات التدريبية الإفتراضية و/أوالموجهة ذاتيا1. هناك أيضًا دورات مخصصة لتحسين فهم سياقات معينة ومجتمعاتها وبيئاتها واقتصاداتها. وفي السودان، تقدم وحدة حساسية النزاعات دورة تدريبية منتظمة حول “مدخل إلى السودان”، بينما يعقد معهد ريفت فالي دورة تدريبية سنوية  مكثفة حول السودان وجنوب السودان.

ومع ذلك، فحتى الدورات التدريبية الأكثر تقدمًا وشمولاً لها حدود. حيث يستحيل تصميم دورات تدريبية لكل مشارك على حدة، حيث سيواجه كل منهم تحديات مختلفة في التعامل مع ديناميكيات النزاعات بدوره. وفي الوقت نفسه، يمكن أن تُفقد المعرفة المكتسبة من خلال التدريبات بسرعة بسبب تنقّل الموظفين، أو تصبح قديمة بمرور الوقت.

بناء صداقات مهمة

بالنسبة للمنظمات التي تفتقر إلى السياسات أو الخبرة الموجودة مسبقًا في مجال النزاعات، قد يكون من المفيد طلب الإرشاد من منظمة موثوقة متخصصة في قضايا النزاعات. في السنوات القليلة الماضية، دخلت منظمات وشبكات بناء السلام، بما في ذلك Saferworld وCDA وswisspeace، في شراكة مع البرامج الإنسانية والتنموية لدمج حساسية النزاع في تصميمها وتنفيذها. في السودان، تعمل وحدة حساسية النزاع كصديق مهم لقطاع المساعدات في البلاد، حيث تنضم إلى حوارات حل المشكلات، وتساهم في اجتماعات المجموعة وتساعد وكالات الإغاثة على التفكير في الأسئلة الصعبة التي تثيرها النزاعات.

وعلى عكس الدورات التدريبية الفردية والأجزاء التحليلية، فإن هذا النوع من الدعم مستمر ومرن وقادر على توفير جميع أنواع المدخلات المخصصة عند الطلب طوال دورة البرنامج، سواء في الاجتماعات الاستراتيجية أو مقترحات البرامج وعمليات التخطيط والتعلم. وبمرور الوقت، يسمح هذا “للمشرف” ببناء علاقات دائمة مع الموظفين وفهم الديناميكيات الداخلية والأنظمة ونقاط الدخول داخل المنظمة، وتكييف منهج التوجيه الخاص بهم وفقًا لذلك.

ولسوء الحظ، كل هذا غير مضمون. يمكن أن يعتمد التغيير الأعمق على مدى استعداد المنظمة التي تسعى للحصول على الدعم إلى الانفتاح، سواء أمام النقد أو طرق التفكير الجديدة، وإلا قد يبدو الإرشاد وكأنه فرض على الموظفين – يمكن أن تؤدي الرسائل الواضحة على مستوى رفيع حول هذا الأمر أيضًا إلى إنشاء فرق كبير. وفي الوقت نفسه، يجب على المنظمة المرشدة أن تحقق توازنًا صعبًا، من خلال توفير التوجيه النقدي والطموح الذي يمكن أن يحفز التفكير والتغيير الحقيقي، مع الحفاظ في الوقت نفسه على الثقة كشريك بناء وداعم.

تواصل مع مكتب المساعدة أو “وحدة حساسية النزاعات”

على مستوى الجهات المانحة أو المستوى الوطني، تكون هناك حاجة في بعض الأحيان إلى تدخل أكثر شمولاً وإستراتيجية. في العقد الماضي، قام العديد من المانحين الأوروبيين، بما في ذلك الوكالة السويدية للتنمية الدولية ، ووزارة التنمية و التعاون الدولي ، ووكالة التنمية النمساوية، و بنك الإستثمار الأوروبي ، بدعم مرافق مخصصة للاتصال الهاتفي أو مكتب المساعدة تركز على حساسية النزاعات. تغطي مكاتب المساعدة هذه بلدانًا بأكملها، أو حتى بلدان متعددة، بمؤسساتها وشركائها، وتستجيب للطلبات المخصصة لتحليل النزاعات، والأبحاث المكتبية، ومراجعات وثائق أو تدخلات محددة.

تعتبر مكاتب المساعدة سهلة الاستخدام بالنسبة للمانحين الذين يعملون فوق طاقتهم. إنهم بارعون في تطوير صورة أكبر لكيفية تعامل المؤسسة الشريكة مع النزاع من المستوى التشغيلي إلى المستوى الاستراتيجي، وبمرور الوقت يمكنهم التنقل في المناقشات والديناميكيات التنظيمية المعقدة. ومع ذلك، فإنها يمكن أن تستثمر قدرًا كبيرًا من الوقت والمعلومات والموارد لتحقيق أقصى استفادة منها ويمكن أن تخاطر بتكرار التحليل بدلاً من البناء عليه في المواقف التي لا يكون فيها متاحًا بسهولة.

وأخيرًا، هناك مرافق لحساسية النزاعات مثل وحدة حساسية النزاعات، ونظيراتها في جنوب السودان، وليبيا، واليمن، وأفغانستان. توفر هذه المرافق العديد من الوظائف المذكورة أعلاه، بما في ذلك بناء القدرات مصحوبة مع القدرة على إنتاج أو تجميع التحليلات مثلما يفعل مركز المعرفة التابع لوحدة حساسية النزاعات في السودان. ومع ذلك، فإن ما يميز هذه المرافق هو قدرتها على التوسط في المحادثات والتعلم بين مختلف الجهات الفاعلة في مجال المعونة، بما في ذلك الجهات المانحة والمنظمات الدولية غير الحكومية والجهات الوطنية الفاعلة في مجال المعونة بطرق تكسر العزلة وتساعد قطاع المعونة على بناء إحساس مشترك بنهجه في التعامل مع النزاعات.

خاتمة

لذا فإن المساعدة متاحة لمنظمات الإغاثة الراغبة في العمل بطريقة أكثر استنارة وقصدا لمعالجة النزاعات. ومع ذلك، في حين أن كل خيار متاح للجهات الفاعلة في مجال المساعدات له نقاط قوة ونقاط ضعف، إلا أن مدى نجاحها سيعتمد غالبًا على كيفية تصميمها واستخدامها في نهاية المطاف. وفي النهاية، ولكي يكون أي توجيه خارجي بشأن حساسية النزاعات مفيدًا، فإنه يحتاج إلى الشركاء المناسبين، والتصميم المناسب لتلبية الاحتياجات المحددة للمنظمة التي يدعمها، والأهم من ذلك، الموارد والمرونة التي تحتاجها للتعلم، وتسليط الضوء على الحقائق غير المريحة والتحديات، و التعاون لإحداث التغيير.

في السودان، تحرص وحدة حساسية النزاعات على مساعدة الجهات المانحة ووكالات المعونة على التفكير في التحديات التي يواجهونها فيما يتعلق بالنزاع ومشاركة التعلم حول الخيارات المتاحة لهم، بما في ذلك مواطن القوة والضعف النسبية وكيفية تطويرها لضمان تلبية الاحتياجات.

  UNAMID Protects WFP Food Delivery for IDPs in Sudan (Credit: UN Photo) الصورة من

قم بالإشتراك للحصول على آخر التحديثات

تقوم نشرات التنوير الشهرية ومجموعات الواتساب للتعلم من الأقران بتسليط الضوء على التحليل العملي والفعاليات ذات الصلة بالإضافة إلى وجهات النظر المتنوعة من أجل مساعدة الجميع في تحسين المعونة المقدمة للمجتمعات

عنوان البريد الإلكتروني
الإسم الأول
رقم الهاتف
أود الإطلاع على:

August 12, 2021 | CSF Team

Helping you help others: how to get the support you need to navigate conflict as an aid actor

Delivering aid in a place dealing with violent conflicts is a complex task and one fraught with risk. Mistakes and misunderstandings in such places have major consequences for aid workers, their organisations and above all, the community members who aid is supposed to benefit. Yet for aid workers from other countries, understanding the societies they work in can seem daunting, let alone figuring out how their own work might impact conflict for better or worse.

Many donor institutions and aid agencies in this situation commission specialists in conflict sensitivity and in the particular area of operations to help their teams understand and respond to the conflicts affecting their area of work. Yet there are several kinds of support available, all of which have different strengths and weaknesses, with some better suited to some situations than others. Here, we have picked out a few, sharing some lessons on how to get the most out of them.

Get on the training train!

Trainings are a great way to help staff get to grips with the basics of conflict sensitivity, and help them think through the practical implications of it for their work. This will leave staff with ideas and skills that can be used to enhance their work. When held in person, trainings can foster change at an organisational or even sectoral level by sparking conversations between participants, through which, communities of practice can emerge.

Fortunately, there are countless training resources, toolkits and manuals relating to conflict sensitivity, including a growing number of virtual and/or self-guided courses[1]. There are also courses devoted to improving understanding of particular contexts, their societies, environments and economies. In Sudan, the CSF offers a regular ‘Introduction to Sudan’ course, while the Rift Valley Institute holds an intensive annual course on Sudan and South Sudan.

Yet even the most advanced and comprehensive trainings have limitations.. At the same time, the knowledge gained through trainings can be quickly lost due to staff turnover or become outdated over time.

Make critical friends

For organisations lacking pre-existing policies or expertise on conflict, it can be helpful to seek mentorship from a trusted organisation that specialises on conflict issues. In the last few years, peacebuilding organisations and networks including Saferworld, CDA and swisspeace have partnered with humanitarian and development programmes to integrate conflict sensitivity into their design and implementation. In Sudan, the CSF serves as a critical friend for the country’s aid sector, joining problem-solving discussions, inputting into and helping aid agencies think through the difficult questions that conflicts raise.

Unlike individual training courses and analysis pieces, this kind of support is continuous and flexible, capable of providing all sorts of ad hoc inputs on request throughout the programme cycle, whether at strategic meetings or programme proposals, planning and learning processes. Over time, this allows the ‘mentor’ to build lasting relationships with staff and an understanding of the internal dynamics, systems and entry points within the organisation, adapting their mentoring approach accordingly.

Unfortunately, none of this is guaranteed. Deeper change can depend on the degree to which the organisation seeking support is willing to be open, both to criticism and to new ways of thinking, or else mentorship might feel like an imposition to staff – clear senior level messaging around this can also make a big difference. Meanwhile, the mentoring organisation must strike a tricky balance, providing critical and ambitious guidance that can spur genuine reflection and change, while at the same time maintaining trust as a constructive, supportive partner.

Contact a helpdesk or ‘conflict sensitivity facility’

At the donor or national level, a more comprehensive and strategic intervention is sometimes needed. In the last decade, multiple European donors including Sida, the FCDO, the Austrian Development Agency and the EIB have supported dedicated call-down or ‘helpdesk’ facilities focusing on conflict sensitivity. These helpdesks cover entire, or even multiple, countries, institutions and their partners, and respond to ad hoc requests for conflict analysis, desk-based research and reviews of specific documents or interventions.

Helpdesks are easy for overstretched donors to use. They are adept at developing a bigger picture of how their partner institution is approaching conflict from the operational to strategic level, and over navigate complicated organisational debates and dynamics. However, they can take considerable investment in time, information and resources, to get the most out of and can risk duplicating rather than building on analysis in situations where it is not readily available.

Lastly, there are conflict sensitivity facilities like the CSF, and its counterparts in South SudanLibyaYemen, and Afghanistan. These facilities offer many of the functions listed above, including capacity building and accompaniment while being able to produce or pool analysis like the CSF’s knowledge hub does in Sudan. Yet what is unique about these facilities is their ability to broker conversations and learning between different aid actors, including donors, INGOs and national aid actors in ways that break down siloes and help an aid sector build a shared sense of its approach to conflict.

Conclusion

So help is at hand for wanting to work in a more informed and deliberate way to address conflict. Yet while each option available to aid actors has its strengths and weaknesses, how they fare will often depend most on how they are ultimately designed and used. Ultimately, for any external guidance on conflict sensitivity to be useful, it will need the right partners, a design tailored to the specific needs of the organisation it is supporting and most importantly, the resources and flexibility it needs to learn, highlight uncomfortable truths and collaborate to make change.

In Sudan, the CSF is eager to help donors and aid agencies think through the challenges they face relating to conflict and share learning on the options available to them, including their relative strengths and weaknesses and how to develop them to ensure needs are met.  

[1] The CSF is currently developing a self-guided, online course introducing the principles and practice of conflict sensitivity

Photo: UNAMID Protects WFP Food Delivery for IDPs in Sudan (Credit: UN Photo)

Tweets
Follow
September 27, 2022, 11:45 am
RT @UKinSudan: زار مبعوث المملكة المتحدة للسودان اليوم منظمة Saferworld التي تعمل بتمويل بريطاني على تثقيف الوكالات الإنسانية في #السودان ح…
5 0
September 26, 2022, 8:59 am
Talking of analysis, we’re currently developing some new papers of our own, following our most recent analysis piece by @HassanAlattarOs and Hussein Sulieman https://t.co/RYPoffIher
0 0
September 22, 2022, 7:17 am
We’re looking forward to sharing our monthly research updates again, compiling fresh research and analysis on emerging issues. You can sign up for these here: https://t.co/NrJdVmwnPR
0 1

Subscribe for Latest Updates

Our monthly updates and WhatsApp peer learning group highlight practical analysis, key events, and diverse viewpoints to help us all deliver Better Aid.

Email Address
First Name
Phone Number
I am interested in