فبراير 06, 2024 | Dawalbit Mohamed

أدبيات مؤججة للنزاعات “تحليل مصطلح 'مُستوطِن' وما يعنيه في دارفور

مقدمة 

 

يعد مصطلح ‘مُستوطِن’ من المصطلحات المُتنازع عليها بشكل كبير، حيث يتطور باستمرار في السودان. فهو يتفاعل مع المفاهيم الأوسع للهوية، وقد يؤدي الى تأجيج النزاع خاصة في إقليم دارفور، حيث استُخدمت المصطلحات والتسميات تاريخيًا لترسيخ العنف. 

يختلف معنى مصطلح ‘مُستوطِن’ وأهميته من مكان إلى آخر. ففي اللغة العربية، المُستوطِن هو شخص هاجر إلى منطقة جديدة ويعيش فيها حالياً بشكل دائمi. يمكن أن يكون لمصطلح مُستوطِن في السودان معانٍ متعددة وفقا للسياق: فعلى سبيل المثال، المُستوطِن يمكن أن يكون سودانيًا أو أجنبيًا، أو يمكن وصفه كذلك بإنه شخص استقر على أرض أشخاص آخرين فروا خلال النزاعات والحروب. إذاً فالميزة الرئيسية المحددة هي أن ‘المُستوطِن’ شخص يعيش في موطن مجموعة أخرى. ومع ذلك، وعلى الرغم من كونه غامضًا، فإن المصطلح يعمل كتوصيف، ويشكل سرد حول الغبائن التاريخية والحقوق وخصوصًا تلك القضايا المتعلقة بنزاعات الأراضي والحصول على الموارد. ويؤكد على ذلك عالم العلوم السياسية محمود ممداني بقوله: ‘استعمار المُستوطِن لا يتطلب وجود مُستوطِن فعلي، بل فقط مجموعة تُعرَّف على أنها مُستوطِنة وأخرى تُعرَّف على أنها أصيلة.ii 

تهدف هذه الورقة إلى مساعدة الجهات الفاعلة في قطاع العون الانساني على فهم أفضل للطرق المختلفة لاستخدام المصطلح، نظرا للتأثير الذي يمكن أن يحدثه استخدام مصطلح “مستوطِن” على النزاع في السودان وآثاره على حساسية النزاع وأثره السياسي والاجتماعي والعرقي، والآثار المترتبة على ذلك، وماذا يعني ذلك بالنسبة لكيفية تعامل الجهات الفاعلة في قطاع العون الانساني مع المجتمعات السودانية. 

لماذا يعد مصطلح مستوطِن حساسا في السودان؟ 

هذه لم تعد دارمساليت، هذه دارعرب.’ كتبت هذه العبارة على احدى جدران سوق مدينة الجنينة من قبل مليشيات الدعم السريع بعد اندلاع أعمال العنف في أبريل 2023. 

تعني دار في اللغة العربية البلد او الموطن، كما في دارفور؛ موطن قبيلة الفور. تمت كتابة العبارة أعلاه بعد أيام قليلة من موجة القتل التي استهدفت أفراد قبيلة المساليت بشكل أساسي في الجنينة. هذا مثال حديث يوضح كيفية تأثير مفاهيم الوطن والسرديات العرقية على النزوح القسري في دارفور منذ عقود. 

ترتبط حساسية مصطلح ‘مستوطِن’ في السودان بشكل عميق بالسياق التاريخي والثقافي والسياسي، فضلاً عن ارتباطه بالقضايا المتعلقة بالأرض والهوية والتمثيل السياسي والنزاع والنزوح القسري. وعلى الرغم من ظهور آثار النزاع الحالي بشكل ملحوظ في دارفور، إلا أن له آثاراً في جميع أنحاء السودان.  

فعلى سبيل المثال، كثيرا ما يزعم الهدندوة في شرق السودان أن البني عامر إريتريون، وليسوا سودانيين، مما أدى إلى معارضة الهدندوة لحقوق البني عامر في المشاركة والتمثيل السياسي. ونتج عن ذلك اشتباكات بين الهدندوة والبني عامر في عام 2020 بشأن تعيين صالح عمار والدكتور سليمان علي كولاة لولايتي كسلا والقضارف، بدعوى أنهم ‘مُستوطِنون’. احتجت نظارات البجا على التعيينات وهددت بإغلاق الطريق الرئيسي الذ ي يربط الخرطوم ببورتسودان، أكبر موانئ البلاد، مما أثر أيضًا على استقرار الحكومة في الخرطوم. وعندما أصبحت الأحداث عنيفة، قتل العديد من الأشخاص من كلا الجانبين، مما اضطر صالح عمار إلى الاستقالة لتهدئة الوضع. وقد تمكنت الجهات السياسية في شرق السودان، على مر السنين، من تأجيج التوترات في الإقليم والتلاعب بها، وتعبئة الجماعات حول قضايا الهوية لأسباب سياسية على المستويات المحلية والوطنية. 

 وفي حادثة مماثلة، تم حرمان قبيلة الهوسا من الحصول على إمارة في الإدارة الأهلية، مما يتيح لهم تملك الأراضي في النيل الأزرق، لأن البعض ينظر إليهم على أنهم ‘مُستوطِنون’، مما أدى إلى نزاع دموي أودى بحياة أكثر من 400 شخص في السنتين الماضيتين، مصحوبًا بتصاعد خطاب الكراهية وإغلاق الطرق والجسور والانقسام العرقي. عقدت قبيلة الهوسا مؤتمرا قبليا في عام 2021 بهدف المطالبة بالتمثيل السياسي، وهو وضع من شأنه أن يمكنهم من الحصول على الأراضي. غضبت قبائل الفونج، وهم مجموعة من القبائل التي عاشت في النيل الأزرق لقرون وكانت لها سلطنة خاصة بها، مدعين أن الهوسا مُستوطِنون، ويجب ألا يكون لديهم حقوق أراضٍ في المنطقة. وعلى الرغم من أن الهوسا قد هاجروا إلى السودان منذ قرون، إلا أنهم لا يزالون ‘سكاناً غير أصليين’ في نظر البعض، بما في ذلك الرئيس السابق الذي أدلى بتلك التصريحات علنًا، في العام 2008 

النزاع، وملكية الأراضي والنزوح في دارفور 

يعتبر مصطلح مستوطن في دارفور حساساَ للغاية نظراً لطبيعة المنطقة المعقدة، وتنوعها العرقي والثقافي والاليات السياسية والاجتماعية، وتاريخ النزاع والنزوح. لدارفور تاريخ طويل من التنافس والتعاون العرقي على الموارد، خاصة الأرض، وبالتالي، يحمل مصطلح ‘مُستوطِن’ دلالات تاريخية مرتبطة بالهجرات ونزاعات الأراضي. ويشير المفهوم المحلي إلى أن بعض ‘المُستوطِنين’ حصلوا على الأرض طواعية من المجتمعات المحلية التي كانت لديها علاقات جيدة معهم؛ بينما استولى المستوطنون الاخرون على الأرض بالقوة. 

 تتم إدارة استخدام الأراضي في دارفور تقليديا وفق نظام الحواكير، بما في ذلك الاستيطان. والحاكورة هي طريقة توزيع الأراضي في دارفور للزراعة والرعي والسكن وفقًا للعادات الاجتماعية. يرجع تاريخ هذا المصطلح إلى عصر سلاطين الفور، كونهم هم الذين قسموا المنطقة إلى حواكير لتسهيل إدارتها، وتوزيع الأراضي لمجموعات محددة، ودرءالنزاعات حول الأراضي.iii ان وصف أي مجموعة بأنها ‘مُستوطِنة’ يعني أنها ليست أصيلة في المنطقة وبالتالي ليس لها حقوق في الحصول على الأراضي وفق نظام الحواكير. ان وصف ‘مستوطِن’ حساس للغاية، وقد يؤدي الى تأجيج التوترات بين المجتمعات، نظرًا لارتباط الأرض بالهوية، والسياسة وسبل العيش. يمكن للمجموعات التي تدعو الى اعادة توزيع الأراضي أو الاقصاء السياسي لمجموعات معينة، أن تتذرع بمفهوم ‘مُستوطِن’ كجزء من مبررات هذه السياسات. 

بالإضافة إلى تلك المجموعات غير المعترف بها على الإطلاق في نظام الحواكير، هناك بعض المجموعات الرعوية التي تم الاعتراف بها باعتبارهم من السكان الأصليين، ولكنها كانت تمتلك حقوق أراضي أقل من الآخرين. ساهم هذا التفاوت في خلق المظالم التي استُغلت لأغراض سياسية ولتأجيج النزاع مما أدى إلى العديد من حالات العنف المسلح ونزع ملكية الأراضي. وقد غذت هذه التوترات طويلة الأمد اندلاع النزاع العنيف في دارفور في عام 2003، وتفاقمت بسببه. وأدت موجة نزوح مجموعات مختلفة وما تلاها من إعادة توطين مجموعات أخرى في المنطقة إلى تعقيد سردية من هم “المستوطنون” وماذا يعني ذلك بالنسبة لهويتهم وحقوقهم. لم تُنشأ جميع المستوطنات الجديدة بشكل عنيف، ولكن العديد منها كانت كذلك. وفي كثير من الحالات، لا يزال الذين نزحوا غير قادرين على العودة، وقد أدى العنف منذ أبريل 2023 إلى موجات جديدة من العنف والنزوح المؤلم. وبالتالي فإن مصطلح ‘مُستوطِن’ في هذا السياق غالباً ما يكون مشحونًا عاطفيًا، لأنه يرتبط بتجارب الذين تم تهجيرهم وفقدوا أراضيهم وسبل عيشهم . 

اثار حساسية النزاع على جهات العون الإنساني الفاعلة التي تستجيب للنزاع الحالي 

شهد السودان، منذ أبريل 2023، أعلى معدلات نزوح في العالم، واضطر الكثير من سكان البلاد الى الاختيار بين الاستقرار أو الانتقال الى مناطق جديدة. خلال استجابته لأزمة النزوح هذه، يمكن لمجتمع المعونة أن يساهم دون قصد في التوترات من خلال الترويج لخطاب ولغة الانقسام التي تشجع على العنف، إلا انه وبدلاً من ذلك، لديه فرصة لتعزيز اللغة المراعية لحساسية النزاعات، والتي تساهم في السلام. 

إن استخدام المصطلحات غير الحساسة تجاه النزاعات يمكن أن يكون له عواقب وخيمة في مناطق النزاع. عندما يتم تصنيف مجموعات على أنها “مستوطنة”، فإن ذلك من شأنه أن يعزز القوالب النمطية والتحيزات، ويعمق الانقسامات، ويعيق إمكانية العمل المشترك من أجل السلام. وبالمقابل فإن تبني لغة شاملة ومحترمة أمر ضروري لتسهيل وتيسيرعمليات السلام الناجحة ومنع انتشار العنف بين المجتمعات. وذلك لا يعني تجاهل أو تطبيع عملية الاستيلاء بالقوة على الأراضي، ولكنه يعني الوعي بالتبعات المختلفة لوصف “مستوطن”، بما في ذلك ما يتعلق بالهويات الوطنية والمحلية، والحقوق في الأرض. 

إن التصور أو الواقع بأن العاملين في مجال العون الانساني يؤيدون ويتداولون السرديات التي تصف مجموعات معينة بإنها “مستوطنة“, قد يؤثر على قدرتهم على تقديم المساعدات بشكل محايد، ويمكن أن يؤثر على الوصول إلى المناطق المتضررة من النزاع، وقد يواجه عمال العون الانساني مخاطر أمنية إذا ما تم اعتبارهم متحالفين مع مجموعة معينة أو يتخذون موقفاً سياسياً بشأن من هو أصيل (بالتالي فهو مستحق لحقوق الأرض) ومن لا يستحق ذلك. إن استخدام المصطلحات غير الحساسة تجاه النزاعات قد يؤدي إلى فقدان الثقة وتقويض جهود التنمية طويلة الأجل. 

خاتمة 

يحمل مصطلح “مستوطن” في السودان آثارًا سياسية واقتصادية واجتماعية كبيرة ضمن السياق الأوسع للهوية السودانية والنزاعات، خاصة في مناطق مثل دارفور. إن فهم المعاني السياقية ودلالات مصطلح “مستوطن” أمر ضروري للجهات الفاعلة في مجال العون الانساني ومجتمع المانحين لتجنب إثارة التوترات عن غير قصد في المجتمعات التي يعملون فيها. وفي حين أن هذا لا يعني غض الطرف عن عملية مصادرة الأراضي، فإنه يعني فهم دوافع النزاع في المنطقة لتجنب المساهمة فيها عن غير قصد. إن إدراك المعاني التاريخية والسياسية للأرض و”الاستيطان” يمكن أن يساعد الجهات الفاعلة في مجال العون الانساني على التغلب على تعقيدات النزاعات في السودان، والمساهمة في زيادة الجهود الإنسانية المراعية لحساسية النزاعات والأكثر فعالية، ومبادرات حل النزاعات وبناء السلام التي تحترم الاليات الحالية والسياق التاريخي للمناطق التي تسعى إلى مساعدتها. 

قم بالإشتراك للحصول على آخر التحديثات

تقوم نشرات التنوير الشهرية ومجموعات الواتساب للتعلم من الأقران بتسليط الضوء على التحليل العملي والفعاليات ذات الصلة بالإضافة إلى وجهات النظر المتنوعة من أجل مساعدة الجميع في تحسين المعونة المقدمة للمجتمعات

عنوان البريد الإلكتروني
الإسم الأول
رقم الهاتف
أود الإطلاع على:

February 06, 2024 | Dawalbit Mohamed

Narratives that drive conflict – unpacking the term ‘settler’ and what it means in Darfur

Introduction 

The term ‘settler’ is highly contested and constantly evolving in Sudan. It interacts with the broader concept of identity and can drive conflict, particularly in the Darfur region where terminology and labels have historically been used to perpetuate violence.  

The meaning and significance of the term ‘settler’ differ from one place to another. In Arabic, a ‘settler’ is someone who has immigrated to a new area and permanently lives there at present.1 In Sudan, ‘settler’ can have various meanings depending on the context: for example, a settler could be Sudanese or foreign, or could describe someone who settled on the land of others who fled during conflict. The main defining feature is that the ‘settler’ is someone living in the homeland of another group.  However, despite being ambiguous, the term acts as a label and shapes narratives around historical grievances, rights and particularly issues related to land disputes and access to resources. This is highlighted by the political scientist Mahmood Mamdani who writes that, “Settler-colonialism requires no actual settler, just a group defined as a settler and another defined as native.”2 

In light of the impact that the use of the word ‘settler’ can have on conflict in Sudan and its implications for conflict sensitivity, this paper aims to help aid actors better understand the different ways the term is used, its political, social and ethnic implications, and what this means for how aid actors should engage with Sudanese communities.    

Why is the term ‘settler’ sensitive in Sudan? 

‘This is no longer Dar Massalit, this is Dar Arab’ was written on the market walls of Al-Geniena city by the Rapid Support Forces (RSF) militiamen after violence began in April 2023.  

In Arabic, Dar means home, as in Darfur, the home of the Fur tribe. The above statement was written just a few days after a wave of killings took place in Al Geniena, predominantly targeting Massalit populations.  This is a  recent example of how notions of ‘home’ have affected forced displacement and narratives along ethnic lines in Darfur for decades.  

The sensitivity of the term ‘settler’ in Sudan is deeply rooted in its historical, cultural and political context, as well as its connection to issues like land, identity, political representation, conflict and forced displacement. While the implications in Darfur are striking in the current conflict, it has implications across Sudan.   

For example, in Eastern Sudan, the Hadendowa often claim that the Beni Amir are Eritreans, not Sudanese, which has resulted in the Beja Nazirs Council opposing the Beni Amirs’ rights to political representation and participation. Consequently, in 2020, the Beja and Beni Amir clashed over the appointments of Saleh Ammar and Dr Suliman Ali as governors of the states of Kassala and Gedaref, respectively, claiming that, as Beni Amir, they were ‘settlers’. The tribe protested the appointments and threatened to block the main road connecting Khartoum to Port Sudan, the nation’s largest port, which also had implications on the stability of the government in Khartoum. When the protests became violent, many people were killed from both sides, and Saleh Ammar had to resign to defuse the situation. Over the years, political actors have been able to inflame and manipulate these tensions in Eastern Sudan, mobilising groups around identity issues for political reasons at both the local and national levels.  

Similarly, in Blue Nile, the Hausa people have been denied an emirate in the native administration as well as land ownership because some have perceived them as ‘settlers’. This has led to a deadly conflict that killed more than 400 people in the past two years, accompanied by a rise in hate speech, blocked roads and bridges, and ethnic polarisation. A Hausa tribal conference took place in 2021 with the intention to claim political representation, status which would give them access to land. In response, the Funj, a group of tribes that have lived in the Blue Nile for centuries and had their own sultanate, were angered, claiming that the Hausa are settlers, and should not have land rights in the area. Despite having migrated to Sudan centuries ago, the Hausa are still being called ‘not indigenous’ by some, including the former president who made such comments publicly in 2008.   

Conflict, land ownership and displacement in Darfur  

The complex nature of the region, its ethnic and cultural diversity, political and social dynamics, as well as the history of conflict and displacement make the term ‘settler’ particularly sensitive in Darfur. Darfur has a long history of ethnic competition and cooperation over resources – particularly land. The term ‘settler’ consequently carries historical connotations associated with migrations and land disputes. Local understanding suggests that some ‘settlers’ were given land voluntarily by local communities with whom they had good relationships; other ‘settlers’ took land violently by force.  

Land use, including settlement, has been traditionally managed in Darfur under the hawakeer system. Hakura is a method of land allocation in Darfur for agriculture, grazing, and housing according to social customs. The term dates back to the era of the Fur sultans, as they were the ones who divided the region into hakura to facilitate its administration, allocate land to specific groups, and ward off conflicts over land.3 Describing a group as ‘settlers’ implies that they are not indigenous to the region and therefore not entitled to access to land under the hawakeer system. Because of the importance of land for identity, livelihoods and politics, the ‘settler’ label is very sensitive, and can potentially fuel tensions between communities. Groups that are advocating for land redistribution or the political exclusion of specific groups may also invoke this notion of ‘settlers’ as part of the justification for these policies. 

In addition to those groups not recognised at all in the hawakeer system, there are certain pastoralist groups that were recognised as indigenous, but that had fewer land rights than others.  This disparity contributed to grievances that were exploited for political and conflict purposes and led to many instances of armed violence and land dispossession. These long-running tensions fed into, and were further exacerbated by, the eruption of violent conflict in Darfur in 2003.  The wave of displacement of different groups and the subsequent resettling of the area by others has further complicated the narrative of who the ‘settlers’ are, and what that means for their identity and rights. Not all of the new settlements were established violently, but many were.  In many cases, those who were displaced are still not able to return, and the violence since April 2023 has led to new, traumatic waves of violence and displacement.  The term ‘settler’ in this context is thus often emotionally charged, as it relates to the experiences of those who have been displaced and lost their land and livelihoods. 

Conflict sensitivity implications for aid actors responding to the current conflict  

Since April 2023, Sudan has seen the highest displacement rates in the world, and much of the country’s population is having to, or choosing to, settle in new areas. While responding to this displacement crisis, the aid community could unintentionally contribute to tensions by promoting divisive language that encourages violence; alternatively, it has an opportunity to promote conflict-sensitive language that contributes to peace. 

The use of conflict-insensitive terminology can have significant consequences in conflict zones. When groups are labelled as ‘settlers’ it can reinforce stereotypes and prejudices, deepen divisions and hinder the possibility of coming together to work towards peace. In contrast, embracing inclusive and respectful language is essential for facilitating successful peace processes and preventing the spread of intercommunal violence. This does not mean ignoring or normalising the forceful taking of land, but it does mean being aware of the various implications of the ‘settler’ label, including around national and local identities, and rights to land.   

The perception or reality that aid workers are endorsing and repeating narratives that certain groups are ‘settlers’ may affect their ability to deliver aid impartially. It can affect access to conflict-affected areas and aid workers may face security risks if perceived as aligned with a particular group or taking a political stance on who is indigenous (and therefore deserving of land rights), and who is not.  The use of conflict-insensitive terminology could also result in the loss of trust and undermine long-term development efforts.   

Conclusion 

The term ‘settler’ in Sudan carries significant political, economic, and social implications within the broader context of the Sudanese identity and conflict, particularly in regions like Darfur. Understanding the contextual meanings and the implications of the term ‘settler’ is essential for aid actors and the donor community to avoid unintentionally driving tensions in the communities where they are working.  While it does not mean turning a blind eye to land dispossession, it does mean understanding conflict drivers in the region to avoid unintentionally contributing to them.  Being aware of the historical and political meanings of land and ‘settlement’ can help aid actors to navigate the complexities of Sudan’s conflicts and contribute to more conflict-sensitive and effective humanitarian efforts and conflict resolution and peacebuilding initiatives. 

Subscribe for Latest Updates

Our monthly updates and WhatsApp peer learning group highlight practical analysis, key events, and diverse viewpoints to help us all deliver Better Aid.

Email Address
First Name
Phone Number
I am interested in