مارس 25, 2024 | Audrey Bottjen

ماذا يمكن أن يعلمنا ماضي السودان؟ – الجزء الثاني: توصيات لمنهجية وصول المساعدات في الوقت الراهن

إن تحديات وصول المساعدات الإنسانية في السودان ليست جديدة، فقد استمرت عملية التحكم في امكانية الوصول او منعه من قبل الجهات الفاعلة في النزاع لتحقيق أجندتها السياسية والعسكرية والاقتصادية لمدة 40 عامًا على الأقل، مع ما يترتب على ذلك من آثار خطيرة على الخسائر البشرية، فضلاً عن طبيعة النزاعات في السودان. وقفت المدونة الأولى في هذه السلسلة المكونة من جزأين على الدروس المستفادة من تاريخ وصول المساعدات في السودان وبينتها لمساعدة الجهات الفاعلة في مجال العون على فهم الآثار واسعة النطاق لتحديات الوصول ومناهجه. وتسعى هذه المدونة إلى ترجمة هذه الدروس إلى توصيات للجهات الفاعلة في مجال السياسات والمعونة المنخرطة حالياً في قضايا الوصول.

يجب أن تضمن مبادئ قطاع العون، وسياساته وممارساته المتعلقة بامكانية الوصول، وصول المساعدات إلى من هم في أمس الحاجة إليها وألا تصبح سلاحًا في الحرب. وهذا أمر بالغ الأهمية حيث تتجه البلاد إلى موسم جوع كارثي، مع احتمال حدوث مجاعة جماعية وما يرتبط بها من آثار على الهشاشة الاجتماعية والسياسية والاقتصادية. إن حجم الكارثة الوشيكة بلغ حداً يجعل المساعدات الدولية غير قادرة على تجنبها، حتى مع إمكانية وصولها بالكامل، لهذا يتعين علينا أن فعل المزيد لمحاولة احتوائها.

وهي تحديات شاقة، ولكن الدروس المستفادة من الماضي وتحليل الحاضر من الممكن أن تساعد في منع استخدام المساعدات (مرة أخرى) كسلاح في الحرب، وقد تساعد بدلاً من ذلك في تحسين الآفاق البعيدة المدى لشعب السودان.

ربط مبادئ المساعدات بالواقع على أرض الواقع

تشير التجربة الإنسانية مع “القواعد الأساسية” لعملية شريان الحياة و”مبادئ المشاركة” لبرنامج جبال النوبة للنهوض بتحويل النزاع إلى أن مناهجنا وأساليبنا في تطوير واستخدام المبادئ يجب أن تكون قوية على مستويين. أولاً، يجب أن تكون مسترشدة بالضغوط السياسية والعسكرية والاقتصادية على إمكانية الوصول، كما هو موضح في المدونة الأولى[1]. ثانياً، يجب أن تكون بسيطة، ومفهومة من قبل جميع العاملين في بيئة العمل – بما في ذلك المجتمع السوداني – وخاضعة للمناقشة والاختبار والتعلم.

تم الاتفاق على مبادئ العمل المشتركة (JOPs) بعد وقت قصير من اندلاع النزاع في العام 2023. وبينما تم العمل على تدريب ومشاركة مبادئ العمل المشتركة مع الجهات الفاعلة في مجال العون والجهات الحكومية والعسكرية، إلا أن هذا العمل لم يشمل المجتمع بأكمله بعد، وهناك عدد قليل من المساحات الآمنة لمناقشة ما تعنيه مبادئ العمل المشتركة في الممارسة العملية[2]. تعتبر مثل هذه المشاركة والنقاش مهمة لمساعدة الجهات الفاعلة في مجال العون على أن تكون شفافة وخاضعة للمساءلة أمام المجتمعات السودانية، كما أنها تمكن السودانيين من المشاركة في ممارسة الضغط على هياكل السلطة للسماح بوصول المساعدات إلى الفئات الضعيفة من السكان.

ومن الناحية العملية، يمكن للجهات الفاعلة في مجال العون أن تساعد في جعل مجال المشاركة هذا أكثر قوة من خلال:

  • تحديث وتبسيط مبادئ العمل المشتركة لتصبح صفحة واحدة، وترجمتها إلى اللغة العربية، بحيث يمكن مشاركتها وفهمها ومناقشتها بسهولة من قبل جميع أصحاب المصلحة في قطاع العون، بما في ذلك المجتمعات السودانية.
  • استخدام مبادئ العمل المشتركة كفرصة لمجتمع المعونة للذهاب إلى أبعد من “عدم إلحاق الضرر”. وكما هو الحال في برنامج جبال النوبة للنهوض بتحويل النزاع، يمكن لمبادئنا أيضًا أن تسعى إلى تقديم مساهمات في بناء التماسك الاجتماعي والمرونة والقدرة على الصمود في مواجهة النزاع، وبالتالي التخفيف من انتشار النزاع وجوانب الهشاشة والضعف المرتبطة به.
  • إنشاء آلية لتبادل البيانات والتحليلات حول كيفية عمل أو عدم عمل مبادئ العمل المشتركة، وخلق مساحات آمنة لهذه المناقشات، وتعزيز التعلم والتكيف لتحسين المبادئ والالتزام بها.
  • الاعتراف بأن الجهات الفاعلة في مجال العون لن يكون بمقدروها الوصول إلى أقلية من المحتاجين بسبب قيود الميزانية والأمن والبنية التحتية. لذلك، يجب أن تدعم مبادئنا وأهدافنا الآليات والعلاقات المحلية التي تمثل خط المواجهة الأول لمعظم الفئات السكانية الضعيفة في جميع أنحاء السودان.

الاستثمار في التحليل والتخطيط وتحديد الأولويات

إن التحليل السياقي القوي هو الخطوة الأولى نحو اتباع منهج فعال ومراعٍ لحساسية النزاعات لإدارة معضلات إمكانية الوصول. إن التداعيات العسكرية والسياسية والاقتصادية التي تمت مناقشتها في المدونة الأولى يجب أن تُفهم ليس فقط على المستوى الوطني، ولكن أيضًا في كل سياق يتم فيه نقل المساعدات وتخزينها وتوزيعها. ويتطلب ذلك قدرات وأدواراً مخصصة للتحليل، ومشاركة متعمدة لوجهات نظر متنوعة. تمثل المناهج القائمة على المناطق والتي يستكشفها قطاع المساعدات حالياً أساساً قوياً وقاعدة متينة لذلك، ولكنها تتطلب شمولاً وإشراكاً للمجتمعات ذو مغزي ومدروساً بصورة أكثر تأنياً[3]. سيؤدي تحسين الحوار مع المجتمعات المدنية السودانية إلى تحسين جودة التحليل وتحديد الأولويات والتخطيط – والمهام التي ستصبح أكثر صعوبة وحساسية مع تقدم موسم الجوع. وتشمل الخطوات المحددة في هذا الاتجاه ما يلي:

  • يجب أن تشتمل المشاريع على بنود في الميزانية لقدرات التحليل والتنسيق التي تعطي الأولوية للمعرفة المحلية على الخبرة الفنية الدولية. وينبغي أن يسترشد بهذا التحليل التنسيق وخطط العمل ونواتج المشروع على المستويين الوطني ودون الوطني.
  • يجب على الجهات المانحة ورئاسات المؤسسات تشجيع أساليب الرصد والتقييم التي تحتفي بالتعلم (بما في ذلك التعلم من حالات الفشل)، وتبادل ومشاركة الدروس، والتقييمات النوعية للأثر، بدلاً من الاعتماد فقط على أعداد الأشخاص الذين تم الوصول إليهم.
  • إدراك أن أهداف إمكانية الوصول قصيرة المدى يمكن أن تؤدي إلى تفاقم دوافع النزاع على المدى الطويل. ويشمل ذلك المشتريات التي توفر الموارد للجهات الفاعلة في النزاع، والمفاوضات التي توفر الشرعية للجهات الفاعلة المسلحة، والطرق التي تؤثر بها المشاريع على العلاقات المجتمعية وأنماط استخدام الأراضي. ينبغي لمجموعة التنسيق بين المجموعات (ICCG) والفريق القطري للعمل الإنساني (HCT) دعم الأطر القادرة على الاعتراف بهذه المقايضات واتخاذ قرارات مدروسة وصائبة عند ظهور هذه المعضلات، وذلك باستخدام مبادئ العمل المشتركة كنقطة مرجعية.

المفاوضات والمشاركة

أن المفاوضات ممارسة سياسية بالضرورة، وتتطلب فهم المواقف والاحتياجات والمصالح المختلفة على مستويات متعددة، فالقرارات المتعلقة بمن نشركه في المفاوضات، وما الذي نتفاوض من أجله، وكيف نتفاوض، لا تشكل نتائج المفاوضات فحسب، بل تؤثر أيضًا على العلاقات بين الأطراف المعنية. وفي السياق الحالي، يطرح هذا تحديات وفرصًا بسبب حساسية النزاع. وتشمل الاعتبارات أو التوصيات المحددة لإدارة هذه الأمور ما يلي:

  • إدراك أن هناك العديد من أصحاب المصلحة الذين لديهم مجموعات متنوعة، وأحيانًا متباينة، من المصالح داخل كل مجموعة يتفاعل معها قطاع العون (مثل القوات المسلحة السودانية، ومفوضية العون الإنساني، وقوات الدعم السريع، وغيرها).
  • أن نكون على دراية بكيفية تشكيل الديناميكيات المجتمعية والسياسية على مدى العقود القليلة الماضية للعلاقات، تنافسية كانت أو تعاونية. وأن نبحث عن علاقات على مستويات مختلفة مع مجموعات متعددة من الجهات الفاعلة داخل المجتمعات، بما في ذلك القطاع الخاص والسلطات المحلية والمجتمع المدني ومجموعات الشباب والنساء لفهم نطاق الاهتمامات والاحتياجات بشكل أفضل.
  • بناة السلام هم مجموعة من الجهات الفاعلة ناقصت المشاركة بشكل خاص تتمتع بالخبرة في الحوار والوساطة، والقدرة على تقديم المشورة بشكل هادف حول أولويات الوصول وتكتيكات التفاوض. وتلعب السلطات التقليدية هذه الوظيفة أحيانًا، ولكن ليس دائمًا. ومن المهم أيضًا اعتبار إشراك الأكاديميين والمجتمع المدني والمنظمات المجتمعية.
  • توخي الحذر تجاه المحاولات التي تقوم بها الجهات المسلحة لتحويل قيادة المساعدات والاهتمام الدبلوماسي والموارد نحو المفاوضات أو طلبات الأدلة المقدمة بسوء نية، بما في ذلك كجزء من استراتيجيات تأخير أو عرقلة المساعدات.

خطط الاتصال والتواصل

يشير تاريخ السودان إلى أن المشاركة المجتمعية القوية تدعم مفاوضات وصول المساعدات من خلال زيادة المشاركة العامة والضغط على الجهات المسلحة، وتحسين جودة الاستجابة للمساعدات. علاوة على ذلك، فهي تبني مصداقية وقبول الاستجابة للمساعدات حيث تصبح المجتمعات أكثر وعياً بنوايا المساعدات وقراراتها، كما تمنحها فرصة للعب دور حاسم في المساءلة. وتشمل الخطوات التي يمكن اتخاذها في السياق الحالي ما يلي:

  • وضع استراتيجية اتصالات للتعامل والتفاعل مع المجتمعات وإشراكها. يجب أن يوضح قطاع العون ويتحمل المسؤولية عن الاستجابة المبدئية للمساعدات حيث لا يكون الوصول إليها مقيداً لأسباب سياسية أو عسكرية. وهذه فرصة مهمة لبناء الوعي العام والضغط على الجهات المسلحة وسلطات الأمر الواقع للسماح بالوصول.
  • البحث عن المزيد من الطرق للاستماع إلى التعليقات والملاحظات الواردة من المجتمعات السودانية، والتصرف بناءً عليها. ومن الممكن أن يدعم الحشد الجماهيري ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي المساءلة في اتجاهات متعددة. يمكن للمجموعات الاستشارية وقيادات المجتمع المدني من مناطق متنوعة في جميع أنحاء البلاد أيضًا إعلام الجهات الفاعلة في مجال العون وتقديم المشورة لها حول كيفية متابعة تخطيط ومناهج إمكانية الوصول.

——-

لقد تم تسييس وإضفاء الطابع العسكري على وصول المساعدات إلى السودان منذ فترة طويلة؛ وتندمج هذه الديناميكيات في العديد من الطرق التي يتفاعل بها نظام المساعدات مع المتطلبات البيروقراطية والأمن والدبلوماسية. وتخبرنا تجارب السودان منذ الثمانينات أن مناهج وطرق الوصول التي لا تفهم هذه الديناميكيات تخاطر بالمساهمة في النزاع. يجب أن تكون مبادئنا وأنظمتنا ومناهجنا قادرة على فهم التعقيد، مما يساعدنا على اتخاذ القرارات الصعبة والتصرف بناءً عليها بطريقة مجدية وهادفة.

[1] لمزيد من التفاصيل حول هذا، يرجى الاطلاع على المدونة الأولى في هذه السلسلة، وقد تمت الإشارة ألى مصادر إضافية في تلك المدونة. ماذا يمكن أن يعلمنا ماضي السودان؟ دروس الوصول الإنساني من عملية شريان الحياة وبرنامج جبال النوبة لتعزيز تحويل النزاع.

[2]    وينبغي أن يشمل ذلك الجهات الفاعلة مثل شركات النقل التجارية التي تنقل المساعدات أو المستجيبين المحليين.

[3] لمزيد من المعلومات حول تحليل وحدة حساسية النزاعات للمناهج القائمة على المناطق وقابلية التطبيق في السودان، راجع هذه المدونة المنشورة في أكتوبر https://csf-sudan.org/ar/benefits-and-challenges-of-an-area-based-approach-to-programming/

قم بالإشتراك للحصول على آخر التحديثات

تقوم نشرات التنوير الشهرية ومجموعات الواتساب للتعلم من الأقران بتسليط الضوء على التحليل العملي والفعاليات ذات الصلة بالإضافة إلى وجهات النظر المتنوعة من أجل مساعدة الجميع في تحسين المعونة المقدمة للمجتمعات

عنوان البريد الإلكتروني
الإسم الأول
رقم الهاتف
أود الإطلاع على:

March 25, 2024 | Audrey Bottjen

What can Sudan’s past teach us? – Part 2: recommendations for aid’s approach to access today

Humanitarian access challenges in Sudan are not new. The control or denial of access by conflict actors to further political, military and economic agendas has persisted for at least 40 years, with serious implications for the human toll, as well as the nature of Sudan’s conflicts. The first blog in this two-part series identified lessons from the history of access in Sudan to help aid actors understand the wide-ranging implications of access challenges and approaches. This blog seeks to translate those lessons into recommendations for policy and aid actors engaging in access issues today.

The aid sector’s principles, policies and practices on access must ensure that aid reaches those most in need and does not become a weapon of war. This is critical as the country heads into a catastrophic hunger season, with the potential for mass starvation and the associated impacts on social, political and economic fragility. The scale of the impending disaster is such that international aid will be unable to avert it, even with total access, but we must do more to try to contain it.

These are daunting challenges, but lessons from the past and analysis of the present can help prevent aid (again) being used as a weapon of war, and instead may help to improve the longer-term prospects for Sudan’s people.

Connecting aid’s principles with realities on the ground

The humanitarian experience with the ‘Ground Rules’ of OLS and ‘Principles of Engagement’ of NMPACT suggest that our approaches to developing and using principles must be robust on two levels. First, they must be informed by the political, military, and economic pressures on access, as described in the first blog.[1] Second, they must be simple, understood by all those in the operating environment – including the breadth of Sudanese society – and subject to debate, testing and learning.

The Joint Operating Principles (JOPs) were agreed soon after the outbreak of conflict in 2023. While work has been done to train and share the JOPs with aid actors, government and military actors, this work has not yet included society at large, and there are few safe spaces for debating what the JOPs mean in practice.[2] Such engagement and debate is important for helping aid actors to be transparent and accountable to Sudanese communities, and also enables Sudanese to participate in applying pressure on power structures to allow aid to reach vulnerable populations.

In practice, aid actors could help to make this area of engagement more robust by:

  • Updating and simplifying the JOPs to fit onto one page, and translating them into Arabic, so that they can be easily shared, understood, and debated by all of aid’s stakeholders, including Sudanese communities.
  • Using the JOPs as an opportunity for the aid community to go further than ‘do no harm.’  As in NMPACT, our principles can also seek to make contributions to building social cohesion and resilience to conflict, thereby mitigating the spread of conflict and associated vulnerability.
  • Establishing a mechanism for sharing data and analysis about how the JOPs are and are not working, creating safe spaces for these discussions, and promoting learning and adaptation to improve the principles and adherence to them.
  • Recognising that aid actors will only be able to reach a minority of those in need due to budget, security, and infrastructure constraints. Therefore, our principles and goals must support local mechanisms and relationships that are the frontline responders for most of the vulnerable people across Sudan.

 Investments in analysis, planning and prioritising

Strong contextual analysis is the first step toward an effective and conflict-sensitive approach to managing access dilemmas. The military, political and economic implications discussed in the first blog need to be understood not only at the national level, but also within each context where aid is moving, stored, and distributed. This requires dedicated capacities and roles for analysis, and the intentional involvement of diverse perspectives. Area-based approaches currently being explored by the aid sector represent a strong foundation for this but require more deliberate and meaningful inclusion of communities.[3] Improved dialogue with Sudanese civilian communities will improve the quality of analysis, prioritisation and planning – tasks which will become more difficult and sensitive as the hunger season progresses. Specific steps in this direction include:

  • Projects should include budget lines for analysis and coordination capacities that prioritise local knowledge over international technical expertise. This analysis should inform coordination, work plans and project deliverables at the national and subnational levels.
  • Donors and headquarters should encourage approaches to monitoring and evaluation that celebrate learning (including from failures), sharing of lessons, and qualitative assessments of impact, rather than relying only on counts of people reached.
  • Recognise that short-term access goals can exacerbate long-term conflict drivers. This includes procurements that resource conflict actors, negotiations that provide legitimacy to armed actors, and ways that projects affect community relationships and land use patterns. The Inter-Cluster Coordination Group (ICCG) and Humanitarian Country Team (HCT) should support frameworks that are able to acknowledge these trade-offs and make deliberate, informed decisions when these dilemmas arise, using the JOPs as a reference point.

 Negotiations and engagement

Negotiations are necessarily political, requiring understanding different positions, needs and interests on multiple levels. Decisions of who we include in negotiations, what we negotiate for, and how we negotiate shape not only the outcomes of negotiations, but also influence relationships between the parties involved. In the current context, this poses conflict sensitivity challenges and opportunities. Specific considerations or recommendations for managing these include the following:

  • Recognise that there are various stakeholders with diverse, sometimes divergent, sets of interests within each group with whom the aid sector interacts (e.g. SAF, HAC, RSF, others).
  • Be aware of how community and political dynamics over the past few decades shape relationships, both competitive and cooperative. Seek out relationships at various levels with multiple sets of actors within communities, including private sector, local authorities, civil society, youth groups and women to better understand the range of interests and needs.
  • Peacebuilders are a particularly under-engaged group of actors with experience in dialogue and mediation, and the ability to meaningfully advise access priorities and negotiation tactics. Traditional authorities sometimes, though not always, play this function. It is also important to consider involving academics, civil society and community-based organisations.
  • Remain vigilant of attempts by armed actors to divert aid leadership and diplomatic attention and resources towards negotiations or requests for evidence that are made in bad faith, including as part of strategies to delay or obstruct aid.

 Communication plans and outreach

Sudan’s history suggests that robust community engagement supports access negotiations by increasing public participation and pressure on armed actors, and improving the quality of the aid response. Moreover, it builds the credibility and acceptance of the aid response as communities are more aware of aid’s intentions and decisions, and also gives them an opportunity to play a critical accountability role. Steps that could be taken in the current context include:

  • Develop a communications strategy to engage with communities. The aid sector should articulate and be held accountable to a principled aid response where access is not constrained for political or military reasons. This is an important opportunity to build public awareness of and pressure on armed actors and de facto authorities to allow access.
  • Find more ways to listen to and act on feedback from Sudanese communities. Crowd-sourcing and social media could support accountability in multiple directions. Advisory groups and civil society leadership from diverse areas around the country can also inform and advise aid actors on how to pursue access planning and approaches.

——-

Aid access in Sudan has long been politicised and militarised; these dynamics are woven into the many ways that the aid system interacts with bureaucratic requirements, security, and diplomacy. Sudan’s experiences since the 1980s tell us that approaches to access that do not understand these dynamics risk contributing to the conflict. Our principles, systems and approaches must be capable of understanding the complexity, helping us to make difficult decisions and act on them in a meaningful way.

[1] For more detail on these, please see the first blog in this series. Additional resources are cited in that blog. What can Sudan’s past teach us? – humanitarian access lessons from OLS and NMPACT – CSFSudan (csf-sudan.org)

[2] This should include actors such as commercial transporters moving aid or local responders.

[3] For more on the CSF’s analysis of area-based approaches and the applicability for Sudan, see this blog from October 2023. https://csf-sudan.org/benefits-and-challenges-of-an-area-based-approach-to-programming/

Subscribe for Latest Updates

Our monthly updates and WhatsApp peer learning group highlight practical analysis, key events, and diverse viewpoints to help us all deliver Better Aid.

Email Address
First Name
Phone Number
I am interested in