أبريل 11, 2021 | CSF Team

نوافذ الأمل: 4 طرق بإمكان قطاع المساعدات مساعدة الانتقال في السودان أو إعاقته

إضافة إلى التحديات اليومية التي على جميع عمال الإغاثة في السودان التعامل معها فإن هنالك قضايا أخرى أعمق يمتلك فيها قطاع المساعدات القدرة على التأثير على الانتقال في السودان على المستوى البعيد.  قامت وحدة حساسية النزاعات بالتعرف على أربعة مواضع أساسية يمتلك فيها قطاع المساعدات المقدرة على المساهمة في تعزيز الصراعات الحالية أو المستقبلية أو العمل على تعزيز السلام. سنقوم في هذه المساحة بالمرور عليهم بصورة سريعة مع العمل على تسليط الضوء على المخاطر والتحديات والفرص التي تتيحها. سنعمل في الشهور القادمة على  الخوض بصورة أعمق في التفاصيل الأساسية لكل من هذه النوافذ مع مشاركة الأفكار والخطوات العملية لأجل مساعدة عمال الإغاثة والمانحين في التعامل مع كل منها بصورة تساهم في خلق السلام الدائم.

النافذة الأولى: العمل على توطين المساعدات بصورة مراعية للنزاعات

لقد كان العمل على تفويض سلطة صنع قرار وموارد أكبر للمنظمات المحلية المشتركة في توصيل المساعدات في أعلى قائمة أجندات نظام المساعدات الدولية منذ عام 2016 على الأقل. ومع ذلك فهي تظل موضعا واجه فيه مجتمع المساعدات الدوليه صعوبة في تحقيق أي تقدم يذكر.  ويعزى ذلك لعدة أسباب تاريخية وهيكلية. ومع ذلك فإن السودان أمام عدد من التحديات الإضافية والفرص من أجل التوطين والتي ترتبط بتاريخه الطويل والمتنازع عليه حول التلاعب القادم من جهة الحكومة بالإضافة للجهود المحاولة للسيطرة على المساعدات.

إن تحقيق قدر أعظم من الملكية المحلية لقطاع المساعدات هو أمر أساسسي لأجل تمكين تنفيذ برامج وإستراتيجيات مراعية للنزاعات بشكل أكبر.  حيث تعمل على تحسين الربط بالسياق المحيط والتكييف ودرجة الملاءمة للمساعدات، بالإضافة إلى بناء الأنظمة والقدرات المحلية والعمل على تشجيع وتمكين الملك المحلي وعمليات الابتكار المتعلقة بالتحديات السودانية.

ستسعى وحدة حساسية النزاعات على العمل على دعم طرق يمكن من خلالها للعمال المحليين التفاعل مع إستراتيجيات ومناهج المساعدات بشكل أفضل، بالإضافة إلى إمداد الإشراف والفرص للمنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية لمساعدتهم في العمل بصورة أكثر حساسية للنزاعات.

النافذة الثانية: الأرض والمعيشة والنزاعات

لقد تم تهجير ملايين من السودانيين من منازلهم في العقود الأخيرة نسبة لعدد من العوامل الاقتصادية والبيئية أخرى متعلقة بالنزاعات. إن من الراجح أن يتسبب تغير المناخ في أنماط جديدة من الإزاحة، بحيث يتسبب في هجرة واسعة النطاق للناس إلى مناطق جديدة. إن التداعيات لذلك تربط عدة قطاعات تتضمن القطاعات الإنسانية والتنموية وعملية بناء السلام والسياسات الاقتصادية. وإضافة لأزمة النزوح فإن تحديات استعمال الأراضي بصورة متمركزة وتحديات إدارة الموارد الطبيعية التي تبرز ستساهم في تعزيز مشاكل المعيشة الطارئة مع إمكان إشعالها للصراعات الموضعية. إن بإمكان السياسيات السيئة فيما يتعلق باستعمال الأراضي والزراعة التأثير على الاقتصاد القومي عندما تؤدي إلى مشاكل نقص في الخبز والسكر والتي تقود المظاهرات الداعية لإسقاط الحكومة. تتضمن عمليات السلام السودانية بنودا لعمليات عودة واسعة متوقعة سيكون لها تداعيات مباشرة على المعيشة والاقتصاد تتشكل بناء على السياسات حول إصلاحات الأراضي بالإضافة إلى الأدوات الإنسانية فيما يتعلق بالسكن والأرض والممتلكات.

إن هذا الروابط هي عناصر مهمة للانتقال السوداني الهش والذي يعتمد تطور شكله- بصورة غير مقصودة أحيانا- على المانحين وصناع السياسات وعمال المساعدات الذين يرتبط عملهم حول العوائد والمعيشة باستعمال الأراضي ودعاويها بالإضافة لإدارة الموارد الطبيعية.

النافذة الثالثة: قطاع المساعدات والسياسة والسلطة

إنه وعبر تاريخ السودان نجد أنه قد أدى التهميش السياسي والاقتصادي لحركات مسلحة ساعية للسلطة، سواء كان ذلك من أجل الوصول إلى حق استقلال بمناطقهم الخاصة أو التمكن من تحقيق السيطرة على الدولة. إن الأرض والمال والبشر هي الموارد الأساسية التي تحتاجها هذه الحركات والأفراد الأقوياء الذين يقودونها. إن لهذه الأمر تداعيات واسعة فيما يخص قطاع المساعدات.

إن هذه النزاعات فوق الأراضي والبشر والموارد هي داخلة في عملية صنع السلاح الجارية حاليا بالسودان. يعمل القادة السياسيون والعسكريون بأطراف السودان على تعزيز مواقفهم التفاوضية عن طريق تعزيز قدر تحكمهم بالأراضي والموارد والسكان. إنه وفي هذه الفترة ذات الأزمة الاقتصادية تعتبر المساعدات الغذائية إحدى الموارد الأساسية المتوفرة لهؤلاء الأفراد من أجل تعزيز دوائرهم الانتخابية. إنه واستنادا على كيفية توزيع المساعدات فإن بإمكانها إما أن تعمل على تشجيع وتمكين شفافية ومسؤولية أعظم أو أن تقوم بتعزيز الفساد وشبكات محسوبية مبهمة.  لقد قام عديد من عمال المساعدات بالتبليغ عن استلامهم لتوجيهات متعارضة عن كيفية التعامل مع الأفراد غير التابعين للدولة بالإضافة لعدم تأكدهم عن كيفية إدارة هذه الديناميات.

 النافذة الرابعة: العمل مع الجهات المهمشة: الجهات الطرفية والنساء والشباب

لقد أتاحت ثورة عام 2019 المجال لمناهج جديدة فيما يتعلق باستعمال السلطات داخل السودان. ورغم ذلك فإن من غير الواضح إلى الآن الكيفية التي ستشارك بها هذه الأصوات الجديدة. لقد كان المعتاد أنه قد امتنعت قدرة بعض المجموعات من مناطق السودان الطرفية بالإضافة إلى بعض الفئات المجتمعية مثل النساء والشباب عن المشاركة بصورة كاملة في عمليات صنع القرار التي تحكم تحديد مستقبلهم نفسه بالإضافة إلى مستقبل بلادهم. لقد قامت كلا الفئتين من النساء والشباب بإبداء قدرة هائلة من الاستقلالية السياسية خلال فترة الثورة ولكن مشاركتهم في الانتقال الجاري مهددة بواسطة الأعراف القديمة المتعلقة بالنوع والاجيال – وهو ما يعتبر مصدرًا محتملاً للهشاشة في الفترة القادمة

يجد عمال الإغاثة في السودان نفوسهم بصورة متكررة مقيدين عن طريق نفس الأنماط والتي يمكن في بعض الأحيان مشاركتهم في استمرارها دون قصد. ومثال على ذلك: نجد أن عديدًا من البرامج لا تزال مصممة وممولة ومشرف عليها من قبل أشخاص يعيشون في الخرطوم ولا يملكون فهمًا للسياق في المناطق التي يتم فيها تقديم المساعدات. وفي نفس الوقت ونسبة لعدم التساوي في الفرص التعليمية داخل البلاد نجد أن عديدا من العمال السودانيين القدم في قطاع المساعدات داخل الأمم المتحدة والمانحين والمنظمات غير الحكومية هم من نفس الدوائر النخبوية التي انتمت إليها الحكومة. وبناء على ذلك فإن عددا من المنظمات لم تكن قادرة على سد فراغاتها المعرفية عن الدور الذي يمكن أو يجب أن تكونه المساعدات على المستوى دون القومي وضمن الفئات المهمشة.

– – – – – – – – – – – – –

إن السودانيين هم الذين سيقومون بالعمل على إمداد أفضل الحلول لهذه التحديات ولكن لنظام المساعدات الموارد والوجود اللازم لتحديد شكلها- سواء كان ذلك أمرًا موجبا أو سيئا. ستقوم وحدة حساسية النزاعات بالعمل عن كثب مع جميع عمال المساعدات من أجل مساعدتهم على حل هذه التحديات والأسئلة والتعامل معها في تعاون مع المجتمعات التي يدعمونها وعاملين على تقديم التوجيه العملي والتحليل والمحادثات المناسبة وقت الحاجة.

قم بزيارتنا عن طريق الإنترنت وسجل معنا من أجل استلام تحاليل أكثر وفعاليات ودورات تدريبية على الرابط: www.csf-sudan.org/ar/#subscribe، أو قم بالتواصل معنا على العنوان: info@csf-sudan.org

Tweets
Follow
December 5, 2022, 10:51 am
Only two days left for the learning advisor position! https://t.co/raDv1whXKR
2 2
November 29, 2022, 12:51 pm
The CSF is looking for a new Learning Adviser to lead on developing and delivering the CSF learning agenda. For more information about the job description and application process https://t.co/uQ4LPmgl1b Deadline for applications: 7 December 2022 #job #Sudan #Peace #career
2 2
November 29, 2022, 8:50 am
Only one day left! Apply for the analysis and outreach manager position and join the CSF. Check out the TOR to know more about the job description and application process. https://t.co/jjnDSmNaLx https://t.co/RGP4nsDcu3
2 2
November 24, 2022, 1:29 pm
We are pleased to offer an introduction to the Conflict Sensitivity Course. The course is free and will be presented in English, it will be on the 1st of December from 1:30 - 4:30 p.m. Sudan time via Zoom. For further information about the course https://t.co/HgHl49PV0i
0 3
November 23, 2022, 7:46 am
RT @RVInews: One Year After the Coup. The 5th & final briefing in @XCEPT_Research 'What Next for Sudan's Peace Process' series on the chang…
7 0

قم بالإشتراك للحصول على آخر التحديثات

تقوم نشرات التنوير الشهرية ومجموعات الواتساب للتعلم من الأقران بتسليط الضوء على التحليل العملي والفعاليات ذات الصلة بالإضافة إلى وجهات النظر المتنوعة من أجل مساعدة الجميع في تحسين المعونة المقدمة للمجتمعات

عنوان البريد الإلكتروني
الإسم الأول
رقم الهاتف
أود الإطلاع على:

April 11, 2021 | CSF Team

Windows of Opportunity: 4 Ways that Aid can either Help or Hinder Sudan’s Transition

In addition to the daily challenges that all aid actors in Sudan must navigate, there are a number of deeper issues where aid has the ability to affect Sudan’s longer-term transition.  The Conflict Sensitivity Facility (CSF) has identified four key areas where the aid sector has the potential to either contribute to ongoing or future conflict, or to contribute to peace. Here, we’ll take you through them quickly, highlighting some of the risks, challenges and opportunities they raise. In the coming months, we’ll delve deeper into the nuts and bolts of each of the windows, sharing ideas and practical steps to help aid workers and donors navigate each in a way that contributes to lasting peace.

Window 1: Localising Aid in a Conflict Sensitive Way

Devolving more decision making power and resources to local organisations engaged in the delivery of aid has been high on the agenda of the international aid system since at least 2016. Yet it is an area where the global aid community has struggled to make any substantial progress.  There are many historical and systemic reasons for this.  Sudan however, faces additional challenges and opportunities for localisation that relate to its long, contested history of state manipulation and efforts to control aid.

Greater local ownership over aid is fundamental for enabling more conflict sensitive aid programmes and strategies.  It improves the contextualization, adaptability and appropriateness of aid, builds local capacity and systems, and promotes and enables local ownership and innovation over Sudan-specific challenges. The CSF will seek to support ways that local actors can better feed into aid strategies and approaches and provide mentoring and opportunities for national NGOs to help them work in conflict sensitive ways.

Window 2: Land, livelihoods, and conflict

Millions of Sudanese people have been displaced from their homes in recent decades by a multitude of economic, ecological or conflict-related factors. Climate change is likely to result in new patterns of displacement, forcing large scale movements of people into new areas. The implications cross many sectors, including humanitarian, development, peacebuilding and economic policy. Alongside a displacement crisis, contested land use and natural resource management challenges that emerge will contribute to livelihoods emergencies and potentially spark localised conflicts. Bad agricultural and land use policies can impact the national economy and, when they lead to shortages in bread and sugar, drive government-toppling protests. Sudan’s peace process includes provisions for a massive anticipated returns process, which will have direct implications for livelihoods and economy, shaped by both policies around land reform as well as the humanitarian toolkit around ‘Housing, Land and Property’ (HLP).

These linkages are an important component to Sudan’s fragile transition, one that will be shaped – sometimes unwittingly – by donors, policy-makers, and aid actors whose work around returns and livelihoods connects to land use, land claims, and natural resource management.

Window 3: Aid, Politics, and Power

Throughout Sudan’s history, economic and political marginalisation has led to armed movements seeking power, whether for autonomy within their own areas or for control of the state. Land, money and people are the fundamental resources for these movements, and the powerful people who lead them. This has massive implications for aid.

These contestations over land, people and resources are at work in Sudan’s ongoing peace process. Political and military leaders in Sudan’s peripheries are boosting their negotiating position by amassing control of land, resources and people. In these times of economic crisis, food aid is one of the key resources available to these actors to build their constituencies. The way that aid is delivered can either help to encourage and enable greater transparency and accountability, or it can feed into opaque patronage networks and corruption.  Many aid workers report having received conflicting guidance on how to engage with non-state actors and are not always sure how to manage these dynamics.

Window 4: Working with the marginalised: Peripheries, Women and Youth

The 2019 Revolution opened space for new approaches to exercising power within Sudan. It is not however yet clear how these new voices will be able to participate. Groups from Sudan’s peripheries and segments of society such as women and young people have traditionally been unable to fully participate in decision making process that determine their own futures, let alone that of their country. Both women and young people demonstrated enormous political agency during the revolution, but their participation in the ongoing transition is threatened by old norms around gender and generations – a likely source of fragility going forward.

Aid actors in Sudan often find themselves bound to these same patterns and can sometimes perpetuate them without meaning to. For example, many programmes are still designed, funded and overseen by people who live in Khartoum, and do not understand the contexts in the areas where the aid is provided. Meanwhile, disparities in educational opportunities within the country mean that many of the senior Sudanese aid workers within the U.N., donors and NGOs are from the same elite circles as the government. Many agencies have subsequently been unable to fill gaps in knowledge about what aid’s role could or should be at the subnational level and within marginalized groups.

_______________________________________________________________________________

While Sudanese will provide the best solutions to these challenges, the aid system has the resources and presence to shape them – for better or worse. The CSF will work closely with all aid actors to help them to disentangle and navigate these challenges and questions in collaboration with the communities they support, offering practical guidance, analysis and the right conversations when they’re needed.

Visit us online and sign up to receive more analysis, events, and trainings at www.csf-sudan.org/#subscribe, or reach out to us at info@csf-sudan.org.

Tweets
Follow
October 20, 2021, 8:19 am
Check out our latest research update, featuring analysis from @cmi_no @CrisisGroup @TheSentry_Org @hpg_odi @SmallArmsSurvey and resources focusing on Eastern #Sudan during the CPA years. Find it here: https://t.co/sZ3jpPAJPn https://t.co/Vb8axHaQv3
1 10
October 11, 2021, 6:21 am
نشارككم نشرة الابحاث الشهرية باللغة العربية لشهر9 و تتضمن التحليلات و المقالات المختارة و قد ركزنا على اتفاقية جوبا للسلام ومستويات الحكم في السودان @Int_IDEA الرجاء الاشتراك على موقعنا : https://t.co/kjfiMqwfHn https://t.co/p6WKoSL1zn
1 2
October 7, 2021, 8:30 am
Land & livelihoods are central to #Sudan’s most intractable conflicts which are linked to legacies of expropriation and displacement. Read more to learn how land rights offer problems and solutions for peace in Sudan: https://t.co/uuXQROTbee
1 7
October 6, 2021, 9:00 am
Don't forget to sign up to our mailing list to stay up-to-date on our analysis, capacity building sessions and efforts to bring aid actors together to help address conflict in #Sudan here: https://t.co/PQotL81o01
0 0
October 5, 2021, 9:30 am
We are hiring! We are looking for a Director to lead the Conflict Sensitivity Facility during a very exciting time. If you are passionate about making sure aid has a positive impact in #Sudan – apply here: https://t.co/lJLFj81zok
4 3

Subscribe for Latest Updates

Our monthly updates and WhatsApp peer learning group highlight practical analysis, key events, and diverse viewpoints to help us all deliver Better Aid.

Email Address
First Name
Phone Number
I am interested in